[{"data":1,"prerenderedAt":-1},["ShallowReactive",2],{"trial:NCT04864054":3,"trial-entities:NCT04864054":252,"trial-summary:NCT04864054":256},{"id":4,"nct_id":4,"org_study_id":5,"brief_title":6,"official_title":7,"overall_status":8,"completion_date":9,"status_verified_date":10,"last_update_date":11,"start_date":12,"sponsor_name":13,"lead_sponsor_class":14,"has_dmc":15,"brief_summary":16,"detailed_description":17,"conditions":18,"keywords":23,"study_type":31,"primary_purpose":32,"phases":33,"enrollment_info":36,"interventions":39,"primary_outcomes":46,"secondary_outcomes":51,"sex":87,"minimum_age":88,"maximum_age":89,"healthy_volunteers":90,"eligibility_criteria":91,"std_ages":122,"locations":125,"central_contacts":238,"overall_officials":247,"references":250,"see_also_links":251},"NCT04864054","ETUS20GPC3AR124","GPC3-Targeted T-Cell Therapy (ECT204) in Adults With Advanced HCC","An Open-Label, Dose Escalation, Multi-Center Phase I\u002FII Clinical Trial of ECT204 T-Cell Therapy in Adults With Advanced Hepatocellular Carcinoma (HCC)","RECRUITING","2027-12-31","2026-06","2026-06-09","2022-03-11","Eureka Therapeutics Inc.","INDUSTRY",true,"This is an open-label, multi-center, Phase 1\u002F2 clinical trial evaluating the safety, tolerability, and efficacy of ECT204, an investigational ARTEMIS® T-cell therapy, in adult subjects with GPC3-positive hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) who have experienced disease progression on, or intolerance to, prior systemic therapy.","ECT204 is an autologous T-cell product built on the ARTEMIS® Cell Receptor platform, incorporating two GPC3-targeting surface components: an antibody-T-cell receptor (AbTCR) and a chimeric stimulating receptor (CSR). Each subject's T cells are collected and genetically modified ex vivo to co-express these receptors, then re-administered to selectively recognize and eliminate GPC3-expressing HCC tumor cells.\n\nThe study consists of a completed Phase 1 and a Phase 2 expansion cohort. Phase 1 used a traditional 3+3 dose-escalation design to determine the recommended Phase 2 dose (RP2D), followed by an RP2D confirmatory cohort to further characterize safety. Phase 2 evaluates a multi-infusion strategy of up to four ECT204 infusions administered across two treatment cycles, with the second cycle administered to subjects who achieve stable disease or better at the Month 2 assessment.\n\nThe active assessment period extends for 2 years (24 months) after the first ECT204 infusion (Day 0). Subjects then enter long-term follow-up (LTFU) for ongoing safety and overall survival assessments through Year 15.",[19,20,21,22],"Hepatocellular Carcinoma","Liver Cancer, Adult","Liver Neoplasm","Metastatic Liver Cancer",[19,24,25,26,21,22,27,28,29,30],"Advanced HCC","Late-Stage HCC","Liver Cancer","Metastatic HCC","T-cell therapy","Immunotherapy","HCC","INTERVENTIONAL","TREATMENT",[34,35],"PHASE1","PHASE2",{"count":37,"type":38},60,"ESTIMATED",[40],{"type":41,"name":42,"description":43,"armGroupLabels":44},"BIOLOGICAL","ECT204 T cells","ECT204 is an autologous T-cell therapy whereby a subject's own T cells are transduced with a lentiviral vector expressing the ECT204 transgene.",[45],"Dose Escalation, RP2D Confirmatory, and Expansion (Phase 1\u002F2 Single Arm)",[47],{"measure":48,"description":49,"timeFrame":50},"To assess the safety and tolerability of ECT204.","Type, frequency, and severity of adverse events (AEs), including treatment-emergent AEs (TEAEs), treatment-related AEs (TRAEs), serious adverse events (SAEs), adverse events of special interest (AESIs), clinically significant laboratory abnormalities recorded as AEs, and AEs leading to permanent discontinuation.","Up to 2 years (active assessment period); additional long-term follow-up (LTFU) up to 15 years",[52,56,59,62,65,68,71,74,78,81,84],{"measure":53,"description":54,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Overall Response Rate (ORR)","ORR, defined as the proportion of subjects with a best overall response (BOR) of either CR or PR.","Up to 15 years",{"measure":57,"description":58,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Duration of Response (DOR)","DOR, defined as the time from first documented occurrence of CR or PR to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurs first.",{"measure":60,"description":61,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Progression-Free Survival (PFS)","PFS, defined as the time from first ECT204 infusion to PD or death from any cause, whichever occurs first.",{"measure":63,"description":64,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Disease Control Rate (DCR)","DCR, defined as the proportion of subjects with BOR of CR, PR, or SD.",{"measure":66,"description":67,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Time to Response (TTR)","TTR, defined as the time from first ECT204 infusion to the first documented occurrence of CR or PR, among subjects who achieve an objective response.",{"measure":69,"description":70,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Time to Progression (TTP)","TTP, defined as the time from first ECT204 infusion to PD.",{"measure":72,"description":73,"timeFrame":55},"To assess the efficacy of ECT204 using RECIST v1.1 | Overall Survival (OS)","OS, defined as the time from first ECT204 infusion to death from any cause.",{"measure":75,"description":76,"timeFrame":77},"To evaluate changes in serum GPC3 as a pharmacodynamic marker of ECT204 activity.","Change from baseline in serum GPC3 over time; association between dynamic changes in serum GPC3 and radiographic tumor response by RECIST v1.1.","Up to 2 years",{"measure":79,"description":80,"timeFrame":77},"To characterize the pharmacokinetic (PK) profile of ECT204, including the expansion and persistence of ECT204 | Peak exposure (Cmax)","Cmax will be determined",{"measure":82,"description":83,"timeFrame":77},"To characterize the pharmacokinetic (PK) profile of ECT204, including the expansion and persistence of ECT204 | Time to reach peak exposure (Tmax)","Tmax will be determined",{"measure":85,"description":86,"timeFrame":77},"To characterize the pharmacokinetic (PK) profile of ECT204, including the expansion and persistence of ECT204 | Area under the concentration-time curve to the last quantifiable concentration (AUCt)","AUCt will be determined","ALL","18 Years",null,false,{"inclusion":92,"exclusion":103,"raw_text":121},[93,94,95,96,97,98,99,100,101,102],"Histologically confirmed HCC, that is unresectable, recurrent, and\u002For metastatic.","GPC3-positive tumor expression confirmed by immunohistochemistry (IHC).","For the dose-escalation cohort: ≥10-20% tumor cells, ≥2+ IHC.","Beginning with the RP2D confirmatory cohort: ≥ 50% tumor cells, 2+\u002F3+ IHC.","Must have received at least first-line systemic therapy for HCC and have experienced disease progression on, or intolerance to, that therapy.","Life expectancy of at least 4 months per the Investigator's opinion.","Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1.","Measurable disease by RECIST v1.1.","Child-Pugh score of A6 or better.","Adequate organ function.",[104,105,106,107,108,109,110,111,112,113,114,115,116,117,118,119,120],"Pre-existing illness (e.g., symptomatic congestive heart failure) that would limit compliance with study requirements.","Active, uncontrolled systemic bacterial, fungal, or viral infection. Subjects with Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), hepatitis B, or hepatitis C are eligible provided their infection is being treated and the viral load is controlled.","History of malignancy other than HCC within 5 years before screening, except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, in situ cervical cancer, or other malignancies with low risk of recurrence.","Known brain metastases or other active central nervous system (CNS) involvement, including leptomeningeal disease. Subjects with brain metastases that have been adequately treated (no evident neurological deficit and no steroid or anti-epileptic therapy for brain metastases) are eligible.","Pregnant or lactating women.","Currently receiving or ending (\\\u003C 14 days from date of consent) liver tumor-directed therapy (e.g., radiation, ablation, embolization), or hepatic surgery.","Concurrently receiving other investigational agents, biological, chemical, or radiation therapies, while participating in the study.","Active autoimmune disease requiring systemic immunosuppressive therapy.","Presence of portal vein tumor thrombus (PVTT) classified as grade Vp4, or any invasion into the inferior vena cava (IVC), except for subjects with IVC invasion who have been treated and radiographically stable for at least 6 months prior to screening.","Ascites requiring active treatment, such as a requirement for paracentesis or escalation of diuretic doses. Exception: Subjects maintained on a stable dose of diuretics with controlled, asymptomatic ascites are eligible.","Active gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding event ≥ Grade 3 per National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 5.0, within 6 months prior to screening.","Coagulation abnormality defined as international normalized ratio (INR) \\> 1.7, unless the elevation is due to therapeutic anticoagulation that, in the Investigator's judgment, can be safely managed in the context of study procedures.","History of organ transplant.","HCC involving greater than 50% of the liver volume.","Experienced allergies to any component of the study drug (ECT204), mouse immunoglobulin, or iron-dextran, or have a history of severe hypersensitivity, including anaphylaxis.","Previously received other gene therapy (e.g., chimeric antigen receptor T-cell \\[CAR-T\\] therapy); exception: prior oncolytic virus therapy is permitted.).","Contraindication for undergoing leukapheresis procedure or receipt of conditioning agents","Inclusion Criteria:\n\n* Histologically confirmed HCC, that is unresectable, recurrent, and\u002For metastatic.\n* GPC3-positive tumor expression confirmed by immunohistochemistry (IHC).\n\n  * For the dose-escalation cohort: ≥10-20% tumor cells, ≥2+ IHC.\n  * Beginning with the RP2D confirmatory cohort: ≥ 50% tumor cells, 2+\u002F3+ IHC.\n* Must have received at least first-line systemic therapy for HCC and have experienced disease progression on, or intolerance to, that therapy.\n* Life expectancy of at least 4 months per the Investigator's opinion.\n* Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1.\n* Measurable disease by RECIST v1.1.\n* Child-Pugh score of A6 or better.\n* Adequate organ function.\n\nExclusion Criteria:\n\n* Pre-existing illness (e.g., symptomatic congestive heart failure) that would limit compliance with study requirements.\n* Active, uncontrolled systemic bacterial, fungal, or viral infection. Subjects with Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), hepatitis B, or hepatitis C are eligible provided their infection is being treated and the viral load is controlled.\n* History of malignancy other than HCC within 5 years before screening, except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, in situ cervical cancer, or other malignancies with low risk of recurrence.\n* Known brain metastases or other active central nervous system (CNS) involvement, including leptomeningeal disease. Subjects with brain metastases that have been adequately treated (no evident neurological deficit and no steroid or anti-epileptic therapy for brain metastases) are eligible.\n* Pregnant or lactating women.\n* Currently receiving or ending (\\\u003C 14 days from date of consent) liver tumor-directed therapy (e.g., radiation, ablation, embolization), or hepatic surgery.\n* Concurrently receiving other investigational agents, biological, chemical, or radiation therapies, while participating in the study.\n* Active autoimmune disease requiring systemic immunosuppressive therapy.\n* Presence of portal vein tumor thrombus (PVTT) classified as grade Vp4, or any invasion into the inferior vena cava (IVC), except for subjects with IVC invasion who have been treated and radiographically stable for at least 6 months prior to screening.\n* Ascites requiring active treatment, such as a requirement for paracentesis or escalation of diuretic doses. Exception: Subjects maintained on a stable dose of diuretics with controlled, asymptomatic ascites are eligible.\n* Active gastrointestinal (GI) bleeding event ≥ Grade 3 per National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 5.0, within 6 months prior to screening.\n* Coagulation abnormality defined as international normalized ratio (INR) \\> 1.7, unless the elevation is due to therapeutic anticoagulation that, in the Investigator's judgment, can be safely managed in the context of study procedures.\n* History of organ transplant.\n* HCC involving greater than 50% of the liver volume.\n* Experienced allergies to any component of the study drug (ECT204), mouse immunoglobulin, or iron-dextran, or have a history of severe hypersensitivity, including anaphylaxis.\n* Previously received other gene therapy (e.g., chimeric antigen receptor T-cell \\[CAR-T\\] therapy); exception: prior oncolytic virus therapy is permitted.).\n* Contraindication for undergoing leukapheresis procedure or receipt of conditioning agents",[123,124],"ADULT","OLDER_ADULT",[126,144,153,161,175,193,209,224],{"facility":127,"status":8,"city":128,"state":129,"zip":130,"country":131,"contacts":132,"geoPoint":141},"City of Hope","Duarte","California","91010","United States",[133,138],{"name":134,"role":135,"phone":136,"email":137},"Kimberley Le, RN, MSN","CONTACT","626-218-2997","kimle@coh.org",{"name":139,"role":140},"Daneng Li, MD","PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR",{"lat":142,"lon":143},34.13945,-117.97729,{"facility":145,"status":146,"city":147,"state":148,"zip":149,"country":131,"geoPoint":150},"Kansas University Medical Center, Principal Investigator:","COMPLETED","Westwood","Kansas","66205",{"lat":151,"lon":152},39.04056,-94.6169,{"facility":154,"status":146,"city":155,"state":156,"zip":157,"country":131,"geoPoint":158},"Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center","Buffalo","New York","14263",{"lat":159,"lon":160},42.88645,-78.87837,{"facility":162,"status":8,"city":163,"state":156,"zip":164,"country":131,"contacts":165,"geoPoint":172},"Montefiore Einstein Comprehensive Cancer Center","The Bronx","10467",[166,170],{"name":167,"role":135,"phone":168,"email":169},"Molly McHugh","718-920-7426","momchugh@montefiore.org",{"name":171,"role":140},"R. Alejandro Sica, MD",{"lat":173,"lon":174},40.84985,-73.86641,{"facility":176,"status":8,"city":177,"state":178,"zip":179,"country":131,"contacts":180,"geoPoint":190},"Oregon Health and Sciences University","Portland","Oregon","97239",[181,185,187],{"name":182,"role":135,"phone":183,"email":184},"Fatema Fareh","503-418-0345","farehf@ohsu.edu",{"name":186,"role":140},"Richard Maziarz, MD",{"name":188,"role":189},"Adel Kardosh, MD","SUB_INVESTIGATOR",{"lat":191,"lon":192},45.52345,-122.67621,{"facility":194,"status":8,"city":195,"state":196,"zip":197,"country":131,"contacts":198,"geoPoint":206},"University of Texas Southwestern, Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center","Dallas","Texas","75235",[199,202,204],{"name":200,"role":135,"email":201},"Amala Poulose","Amala.Poulose@UTSouthwestern.edu",{"name":203,"role":140},"David Hsieh, MD",{"name":205,"role":189},"Farrukh Awan, MD",{"lat":207,"lon":208},32.78306,-96.80667,{"facility":210,"status":8,"city":211,"state":212,"zip":213,"country":131,"contacts":214,"geoPoint":221},"Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center, University of Washington","Seattle","Washington","98109",[215,219],{"name":216,"role":135,"phone":217,"email":218},"Shelby Colden","206-667-5134","scolden2@fredhutch.org",{"name":220,"role":140},"William Harris, MD",{"lat":222,"lon":223},47.60621,-122.33207,{"facility":225,"status":8,"city":226,"zip":227,"country":228,"contacts":229,"geoPoint":235},"National Taiwan University Cancer Center","Taipei","106","Taiwan",[230,233],{"name":231,"role":135,"email":232},"Guanlieng Chen","guanlieng.chen@doint.com.tw",{"name":234,"role":140},"Chiun Hsu, MD, PhD",{"lat":236,"lon":237},25.05306,121.52639,[239,243],{"name":240,"role":135,"phone":241,"email":242},"Teresa Klask, MBA","925-949-9314","Teresa.Klask@eurekainc.com",{"name":244,"role":135,"phone":245,"email":246},"Pei Wang, PhD","510-654-7045","Pei.Wang@eurekainc.com",[248],{"name":244,"affiliation":13,"role":249},"STUDY_DIRECTOR",[],[],{"nct_id":4,"conditions":253,"biomarkers":254},[19],[255],"Glypican-3",{"nct_id":4,"found":15,"summary":257,"prompt_version":267},{"design":258,"status":259,"heading":260,"summary":261,"follow_up":262,"word_count":263,"commitments":264,"compensation":265,"drugs_mentioned":266},"This is an open-label (meaning you and your doctors will know what treatment you are receiving), multi-center study with a planned enrollment of 60 participants.","completed","ECT204 T-Cell Therapy for Advanced Liver Cancer","This study is testing a new treatment called ECT204 T cells for adults with advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), a type of liver cancer, that has spread or come back after other treatments. ECT204 is made from your own T cells (a type of immune cell) that are specially modified to find and attack cancer cells that have a protein called GPC3 on their surface. To join, your liver cancer must be confirmed by a biopsy (tissue sample) and show enough GPC3 protein. The main goal of this study is to see how safe ECT204 is and how well people tolerate it. This study is currently unclear about its recruitment status.","You will be actively monitored for up to 2 years after your first treatment, and then for long-term safety and survival for up to 15 years.",110,"Not specified in the trial record.","Not stated in the trial record.",[42],"v2"]