[{"data":1,"prerenderedAt":-1},["ShallowReactive",2],{"trial:NCT06078371":3,"trial-entities:NCT06078371":119,"trial-summary:NCT06078371":143},{"id":4,"nct_id":4,"org_study_id":5,"brief_title":6,"official_title":7,"overall_status":8,"completion_date":9,"status_verified_date":10,"last_update_date":11,"start_date":12,"sponsor_name":13,"lead_sponsor_class":14,"has_dmc":15,"brief_summary":16,"detailed_description":17,"conditions":18,"keywords":41,"study_type":44,"primary_purpose":45,"phases":46,"enrollment_info":48,"interventions":51,"primary_outcomes":57,"secondary_outcomes":62,"sex":72,"minimum_age":73,"maximum_age":74,"healthy_volunteers":75,"eligibility_criteria":76,"std_ages":91,"locations":94,"central_contacts":111,"overall_officials":116,"references":117,"see_also_links":118},"NCT06078371","STUDY00149431","Opioid-Free Pain Treatment in Trauma Patients","Peri-operative Opioid-free Analgesic Protocol for Orthopedic Trauma Patients","RECRUITING","2026-10","2024-10","2024-10-26","2023-11-01","University of Kansas Medical Center","OTHER",true,"Analgesic drug study that will compare pain outcomes of opioid analgesia and opioid-free analgesia in post-operative orthopedic patients.","This will be a single center randomized trial. The study will be conducted using block randomization, with two six-month blocks of patient enrollment. The first block will consist of patients undergoing treatment of the above-mentioned fractures with normal standard of care pain management protocol (pre-, intra-, and postoperatively). The second block will consist of patients undergoing treatment the same fractures with opioid-free pain management protocol (pre-, intra-, and postoperatively). Block selection will be determined based on the date of the surgery. However, patients initially assigned to the opioid-free protocol that have CKD\u002Flaboratory evidence of poor renal function (ie, elevated BUN\u002FCreatinine) or laboratory evidence of liver function issues (ie, cirrhosis, hypoalbuminemia, elevated liver transaminases, elevated GGT) will crossover to the opioid group as NSAID use and acetaminophen use, respectively, are contraindicated. The use of block randomization will preclude the need for the study coordinator to perform any sort of individual randomization or sealed envelope use for treatment assignment. For subjects who meet eligibility criteria, study informed consent will be obtained at the same time as surgical consent. Patients in the standard of care study block will undergo KUMC's normal pain management strategy. Patients in the opioid-free study block will receive the same pain-management drugs as the opioid group aside from receiving opioids; all other medical care will be standard in this group. Postoperative weightbearing, immobilization, perioperative antibiotics, drain usage, and discharge criteria will be determined by institutional protocols and will remain the same for each block. All patients will be started on postoperative chemical anticoagulation prophylaxis as determined by their fracture pattern and medical comorbidities. Patients will be clinically monitored for signs of venous thromboembolism and appropriate diagnostic screening will be utilized as necessary. Wound complications will be monitored by the treating surgeon and managed as necessary. The study team also plans to record patient specific factors including age, sex, BMI, smoking status, comorbidities, and operative time. These variables will be analyzed independently to detect any correlation with the two pain management protocols.",[19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,34,35,36,37,38,39,40],"Femoral Neck Fractures","Intertrochanteric Fractures","Femoral Shaft Fracture","Distal Femur Fracture","Patella Fracture","Tibial Shaft Fracture with or Without Associated Fibula Fracture","Ankle Fracture (bimalleolar Equivalent, Bimalleolar, or Trimalleolar)","Tibial Pilon Fracture","Talar Head, Neck, Body, or Process Fractures","Calcaneus Fractures","Lisfranc Injuries","Isolated or Multiple Metatarsal Fractures","Phalanx Fractures of the Foot, Single or Multiple","Clavicle Fractures","Proximal Humerus Fractures","Humeral Shaft Fractures","Distal Humerus Fractures (intra or Extra-articular)","Olecranon Fractures","Radial Head or Neck Fractures","Elbow Fractures Involving a Combination of Fractures of the Radius and Uln","Forearm Fractures (both Bone Forearm Fractures, Isolated Ulnar Shaft, Isolated Radial Shaft)","Distal Radius Fractures",[42,43],"Surgical Intervention","Trauma","INTERVENTIONAL","SUPPORTIVE_CARE",[47],"NA",{"count":49,"type":50},250,"ESTIMATED",[52],{"type":14,"name":53,"description":54,"armGroupLabels":55},"Opioid-free pain treatment","Pain treatment includes any medications up to the medical team's discretion aside from opioids.",[56],"Opioid-Free pain treatment (Block 2)",[58],{"measure":59,"description":60,"timeFrame":61},"Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Scores","Patients will be asked how much pain they are experiencing on a 1-10 scale after their surgery. Lower scores mean better outcomes and less pain, higher scores mean worse outcomes.","From post surgery up until 6 months post surgery",[63,66,69],{"measure":64,"description":65,"timeFrame":61},"Postoperative complications","Data will be collected on the presence or absence of various complications due to surgery that include: acute kidney injury, subsequent reoperation, amputation, compartment syndrome, surgical site infection, wound dehiscence, nonunion, or venous thromboembolism.",{"measure":67,"description":68,"timeFrame":61},"Medication usage (timing)","The duration of which analgesia is used to treat post-surgical pain will be measured",{"measure":70,"description":71,"timeFrame":61},"Medication usage (quantity)","The dosage of analgesia used to treat post-surgical pain will be measured","ALL","18 Years",null,false,{"inclusion":77,"exclusion":80,"raw_text":90},[78,79],"Patient is over the age of 18 years old","Underwent surgical treatment for the injuries of interest (stated elsewhere) by an Orthopedic Traumatology Attending Physician at the University of Kansas Hospital",[81,82,83,84,85,86,87,88,89],"Patients that are unable to provide informed consent due to sustaining a head injury or incoherence from narcotics given to them post-injury","Chronic opioid use","Under the age of 18 years old","Undergoing revision surgery","Did not undergo surgical fixation","Pregnant\u002Fnursing women","Vulnerable populations as defined by the University of Kansas Medical Center IRB","Did not experience one of the following fractures listed in D.1. above.","Patients with CKD and\u002For cirrhosis will be excluded from the opioid-free pain block (block 2) and will only qualify for the standard of care opioid group (Block 1)","Inclusion Criteria:\n\n* Patient is over the age of 18 years old\n* Underwent surgical treatment for the injuries of interest (stated elsewhere) by an Orthopedic Traumatology Attending Physician at the University of Kansas Hospital\n\nExclusion Criteria:\n\n* Patients that are unable to provide informed consent due to sustaining a head injury or incoherence from narcotics given to them post-injury\n* Chronic opioid use\n* Under the age of 18 years old\n* Undergoing revision surgery\n* Did not undergo surgical fixation\n* Pregnant\u002Fnursing women\n* Vulnerable populations as defined by the University of Kansas Medical Center IRB\n* Did not experience one of the following fractures listed in D.1. above.\n* Patients with CKD and\u002For cirrhosis will be excluded from the opioid-free pain block (block 2) and will only qualify for the standard of care opioid group (Block 1)",[92,93],"ADULT","OLDER_ADULT",[95],{"facility":96,"status":8,"city":97,"state":98,"zip":99,"country":100,"contacts":101,"geoPoint":108},"The University of Kansas Medical Center","Kansas City","Kansas","66103","United States",[102,106],{"name":103,"role":104,"email":105},"Dave Turkowitch, BS","CONTACT","dturkowitch@kumc.edu",{"name":107,"role":104},"Archie Heddings, MD",{"lat":109,"lon":110},39.11417,-94.62746,[112,115],{"name":107,"role":104,"phone":113,"email":114},"913-588-6164","aheddings@kumc.edu",{"name":103,"role":104,"email":105},[],[],[],{"nct_id":4,"conditions":120,"biomarkers":142},[121,122,40,123,124,125,126,127,128,129,130,131,132,133,134,135,136,137,138,139,140,141],"Ankle Fracture","Clavicle Fracture","Elbow Fracture","Femoral Fractures, Distal","Femur Fracture","Forearm Fracture","Fracture of calcaneus","Fracture of neck of femur","Fracture of olecranon","Fracture of patella","Fracture of phalanx of foot","Fracture of radial head","Humeral Fractures, Distal","Humeral Shaft Fracture","Intertrochanteric fracture","Lisfranc Injury","Metatarsal bone fracture","Pilon fracture","Proximal Humerus Fracture","Talar Fracture","Tibia Fracture",[],{"nct_id":4,"found":15,"summary":144,"prompt_version":152},{"design":145,"status":146,"heading":6,"summary":147,"follow_up":145,"word_count":148,"commitments":149,"compensation":150,"drugs_mentioned":151},"Not specified.","completed","{\n   \"Opioid-Free Pain Treatment for Trauma Patients\",\n   \"This study is looking at different ways to manage pain after surgery for certain broken bones, specifically in the hip and thigh (femoral neck, intertrochanteric, femoral shaft, distal femur, and patella fractures). Researchers want to compare how well pain is controlled using standard pain medications (which can include opioids) versus an \\\"opioid-free pain treatment\\\" plan. You might be able to join if you are over 18, are having surgery for one of these fractures at the University of Kansas Hospital, and can give your consent. The main goal is to see how your pain levels change from right after surgery up to 6 months later. The study is currently unclear about its recruitment status and plans to enroll 250 people.\",\n  \"design\": \"This is an interventional study that will randomly assign 250 participants into two groups over two six-month periods. One group will receive standard pain management, and the other will receive opioid-free pain management.\",\n  \"commitments\": \"You would receive pain treatment as determined by the study protocol, either standard care or opioid-free. Your pain levels will be measured from after surgery up to 6 months later.\",\n  \"compensation\": \"Not stated in the trial record.\",\n  \"follow_up\": \"Your pain levels will be monitored for up to 6 months after surgery.\",\n}",214,"Not specified in the trial record.","Not stated in the trial record.",[53],"v2"]