OCT-Guided Laser Treatment for Corneal Opacity

This study is testing a new way to use Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) to guide a laser procedure called phototherapeutic keratectomy (PTK). OCT is a non-contact machine that measures the depth of scars and cloudiness in the front of your eye. The goal is to see if using OCT measurements to plan the laser treatment (OCT-guided laser phototherapeutic keratectomy) can improve vision for people with corneal opacity (cloudiness in the eye's clear outer layer). You might be able to join if your vision is affected by superficial (surface-level) corneal opacities that can be removed by PTK, and you are at least 18 years old. The study will look for improvements in your best spectacle-corrected visual acuity (how well you see with glasses or contacts) 12 months after the procedure.

Study design
This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 80 participants. The study type is not specified (e.g., randomized or single-arm).
What's involved
You would need to be able to give informed consent, maintain stable eye fixation for OCT imaging, and commit to all required study visits.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your vision will be measured 12 months after the procedure to see if it has improved.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT01243931

Optical Coherence Tomography Guided Transepithelial Phototherapeutic Keratectomy

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalTreatment
Oregon Health and Science University
~80 participants
Updated 2024-02-12 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:OCT-guided laser phototherapeutic keratectomy

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Improvement in best spectacle-corrected visual acuity (BSCVA) after PTK
Measured over 12 months post-procedure
Corneal Opacity

NCT01243931

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health & Science University

    Portland, Oregonstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • David Huang, MD, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health & Science University

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Patients with vision primarily limited by superficial opacities and irregularities that could be removed by PTK while leaving at least 250 µm.

Exclusion

Inability to give informed consent
Inability to maintain stable fixation for OCT imaging
Inability to commit to required visits to complete the study
Deep corneal opacities and irregularities
Cataracts, retinal disease, glaucoma, or other eye conditions that may limit the visual outcome after surgery
  • Improvement in best spectacle-corrected visual acuity (BSCVA) after PTK12 months post-procedure

    The primary goal of the trial is to determine the efficacy of the OCT-guided PTK treatment of corneal opacities. During the course of the trial, we will compare the predictive accuracy of the original OCT-guided PTK planning system to the OCT topography-guided system. BSCVA will be measured in typical Snellen acuity notation as 20/xx (feet)