Proton Therapy for Esophageal Cancer
This study is looking at a new way to treat esophageal cancer using proton radiation along with chemotherapy. The chemotherapy drugs being tested are carboplatin and paclitaxel, which are given before surgery. Researchers want to see if this combination improves overall survival for people with certain types of esophageal cancer that can be removed by surgery. You might be able to join if you have squamous cell or adenocarcinoma of the esophagus that meets specific staging criteria. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and aims to enroll 38 participants.
- Study design
- This is a phase II interventional study, meaning it tests a new treatment approach in a small group of people. It plans to enroll 38 participants.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for at least 3 months after treatment to assess overall survival.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Proton Therapy for Esophageal Cancer
At a glance
Conditions
NCT01684904
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
Loma Linda University Medical Center
Loma Linda, Californiastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Study leadership
- Gary Yang, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · [email protected]
Who to contact
Want this trial checked against your situation?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
What this trial measures
- To assess overall survival of patients treated with proton-chemotherapy (PCT) followed by surgery in patients with resectable primary esophageal or esophagogastric cancerThe major analysis for reporting the initial results of treatment will be undertaken when each patient has been potentially followed for a minimum of 3 months