Radiotherapy With Cisplatin vs. Docetaxel-cetuximab in HNSCC: ERCC1 Biomarker Enrichment and Interaction Design

{ "Radiotherapy with Cisplatin vs. Docetaxel-cetuximab for Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma", "This study aims to find out which chemotherapy combination works best for locally advanced head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (HNSCC). You would receive radiation therapy (IMRT) along with one of two chemotherapy treatments: either Cisplatin, or a combination of Docetaxel and Cetuximab. Researchers will compare how well these treatments work and their side effects. The main goal is to see how long patients live without their cancer growing or spreading, measured for up to 5 years. This study is for adults aged 18 and older with squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, larynx, or hypopharynx that hasn't spread to other parts of the body.", "design": "This is an interventional study planning to enroll 120 participants. You would be randomly assigned to receive either Cisplatin or the combination of Docetaxel and Cetuximab.", "commitments": "You would receive weekly intravenous (IV) chemotherapy for 7 weeks, along with daily radiation therapy (IMRT) Monday through Friday for 7 weeks.", "compensation": "Not stated in the trial record.", "follow_up": "The study will track your progress for up to 5 years to see how long it takes for the cancer to grow or spread.", }

Study design
Not specified.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Not specified.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT02128906

Radiotherapy With Cisplatin vs. Docetaxel-cetuximab in HNSCC: ERCC1 Biomarker Enrichment and Interaction Design

Recruiting
PHASE2Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Christopher Wilke
~120 participants
Updated 2026-04-16 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:CisplatinIMRTDocetaxelCetuximab

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Time To Progression (TTP)
Measured over Up to 5 years
Squamous Cell Carcinoma
1 sites across 1 states
Pennsylvania1
  • Christopher T Wilke, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Pittsburgh

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Pathologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma, undifferentiated carcinoma, or poorly differentiated carcinoma of the oropharynx, larynx, or hypopharynx with no evidence of distant metastasis. Biopsy sampling of primary tumor with pathology report documenting diagnostic tissue type is required.
Patients must have stage III, IVa or IVb disease as determined by imaging studies and complete head and neck exam. Staging evaluation should be in accordance with the American Joint Committee on Cancer Staging Manual, 7th edition.
Patients with oropharyngeal squamous cell carcinoma may have p16(+) or p16(-) disease; in these patients, p16 status must be known prior to randomization. Assessment of p16 status may occur locally or centrally. Note: The definition of p16(+) disease is diffuse nuclear and cytoplasmic staining in ≥ 70% of tumor cells.
Patients must be untreated with curative-intent surgery for current diagnosis of Stage III, IVa, or IVb disease. Diagnostic biopsy of primary tumor and/or nodal sites is permitted.
Diagnostic simple tonsillectomy is permitted, provided patient has RECIST-measurable residual tumor and/or nodal disease.
Patients with a second HNSCC primary tumor are eligible for this study, provided more than 2 years have elapsed since the first diagnosis of HNSCC, the original tumor was managed with surgery only (no adjuvant chemotherapy/radiotherapy), and has not recurred.
Patients with simultaneous primaries or bilateral tumors are excluded, with the exception of patients with bilateral tonsil cancers or patients with T1-2, N0, M0 resected differentiated thyroid carcinoma, who are eligible.
No prior systemic treatment (chemotherapy or biologic/molecular targeted therapy) or radiation treatment for head and neck cancer.
Patients may have received chemotherapy or radiation for a previous, curatively treated non-HNSCC malignancy, provided at least 2 years have elapsed.
Patients must be untreated with radiation above the clavicles.
Patients with a history of curatively-treated non-HNSCC malignancy must be disease-free for at least 2 years except for carcinoma-in-situ of cervix, non-melanomatous skin cancer, or T1-2, N0, M0 resected differentiated thyroid carcinoma.
Diagnostic primary tumor tissue must be available for ERCC1 staining
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status 0-1 (See Appendix 8)
Age ≥ 18
Patients must have measurable disease according to RECIST 1.1
Patients must have the following laboratory values measured within 14 days of registration:
Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \> 1500/mm3
Hemoglobin (Hb) \> 8.0 g/dL
Platelet count (PLT) \> 100,000/mm3
Creatinine clearance ≥ 45 ml/min determined by 24-hour collection or estimated by the Cockraft-Gault formula:
Serum bilirubin \< 2 mg/dL
AST (aspartate aminotransferase) and ALT (alanine aminotransferase) \< 3 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
The following assessments are required within 14 days prior to registration: Na, K, Cl, glucose, Ca, Mg, and albumin. The following metabolic values will exclude patients from study enrollment:
Serum calcium (ionized or adjusted for albumin) \< 7 mg/dl (1.75 mmol/L) or \> 12.5 mg/dl (\> 3.1 mmol/L) despite intervention to normalize levels
Magnesium \< 0.9 mg/dl (\< 0.4 mmol/L) or \> 3 mg/dl (\> 1.23 mmol/L) despite intervention to normalize levels
Potassium \< 3.5 mmol/L or \> 6 mmol/L despite intervention to normalize levels
Sodium \< 130 mmol/L or \> 155 mmol/L despite intervention to normalize levels Note: Patients with an initial magnesium \< 0.5 mmol/L (1.2 mg/dl) may receive corrective magnesium supplementation but should continue to receive either prophylactic weekly infusion of magnesium and/or oral magnesium supplementation (eg, magnesium oxide) at the investigator's discretion.
No prior severe infusion reaction to a monoclonal antibody
Written informed consent must be obtained from all patients prior to beginning therapy. Patients should have the ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.
Informed consent must be obtained from all patients prior to beginning therapy, including consent for mandatory tissue submission for ERCC1 staining (and p16 staining if not locally conducted). Patients should have the ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.
No unstable angina or myocardial infarction within the prior 6 months; no symptomatic congestive heart failure; no serious cardiac arrhythmia requiring medication; no cerebrovascular ischemia or stroke within the past 6 months.
No uncontrolled intercurrent illness including active infection, uncontrolled diabetes, uncontrolled hypertension, or uncontrolled psychiatric illness which in the investigator's opinion would limit compliance with study requirements or compromise patient safety.
Women must not be pregnant or breast feeding because chemotherapy and/or cetuximab may be harmful to the fetus or the nursing infant. Pregnant women are excluded from this study because chemotherapy and/or cetuximab have the potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects.
Women of child-bearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation. Should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately. All females of childbearing potential must have a blood test or urine study within 14 days of registration to rule out pregnancy.
HIV-positive patients receiving combination anti-retroviral therapy are excluded from the study because of possible drug interactions with study drugs. Appropriate studies will be undertaken in patients receiving combination anti-retroviral therapy when indicated. Note: HIV testing is not required for entry into this protocol.
Patients may not be receiving any other anti-neoplastic investigational agents.
  • Time To Progression (TTP)Up to 5 years

    Time To Progression is the duration of time from date of study entry until the first appearance of new metastatic lesions or objective tumor progression in patients with increased tumoral ERCC1 expression. Progression is defined per RECIST v1.1 as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. (Note: the appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression).