Abbott DBS Study for Movement Disorders

This international study is looking at the long-term safety and effectiveness of Abbott Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) systems. DBS is a treatment that uses electrical signals to help control movement disorders like Parkinson's disease, essential tremor, and dystonia. The study will follow people who are getting a new Abbott DBS system or having their current one replaced. Researchers want to see how well the DBS system works over time by measuring changes in your disease-specific motor skills at 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years. About 1000 people are expected to join this study. The current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This is an observational study, meaning researchers will collect information about your care as it happens. It plans to enroll about 1000 participants.
What's involved
You would be followed for 5 years after your initial DBS programming visit. The study will measure changes in your motor skills at 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for 5 years after the initial programming visit.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT04071847

Abbott DBS Post-Market Study of Outcomes for Indications Over Time

Recruiting
Not specifiedAll AgesObservational
Abbott Medical Devices
~1,000 participants
Updated 2026-01-08 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS)

At a glance

Recruiting sites
24 of 48 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change from baseline to 6 months in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.
Measured over Baseline to 6 months
+29 more outcomes measured
Movement Disorders
Parkinson Disease
Essential Tremor
Tremor
Dystonia
Primary Dystonia
Secondary Dystonia

NCT04071847

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 48 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Albany Medical Center

    Albany, New Yorkstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • CHU Hopital Pasteur

    Nice, Provence-Alpes-Azur, Francestudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Helsinki University Central Hospital

    Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finlandstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Hospital Universitari Germans Trias I Pujol

    Badalona, Catalonia, Spainstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Hospital Virgen de Rocio

    Seville, Andalusia, Spainstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Hualien Tzu Chi Hospital

    Hualien City, Taiwanstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Indiana University

    Indianapolis, Indianastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Ohio State Medical

    Columbus, Ohiostudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Devyani Nanduri · STUDY_DIRECTOR · Abbott Medical Devices Neuromodulation

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Change from baseline to 6 months in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.Baseline to 6 months

    The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) assess the severity of Parkinson's disease. This questionnaire is composed of four sections: Part I: non-motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions (Part Ia is assessed by the investigator while part Ib is assessed by the subject, with or without the help of the caregiver); Part II: motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions, designed to be self-administered; Part III: motor examinations consisting of 33 scores based on 18 questions with several right, left or other body distribution scores; Part IV: motor complications: consisting of 6 questions. Each item is scored from 0 to 4, where 0 indicates normal, 1 indicates slight symptoms, 2 indicates mild symptoms, 3 indicates moderate symptoms, and 4 indicates severe symptoms. The total score for each part is obtained from the sum of the corresponding item scores. Higher scores indicate greater impact of PD symptoms.

  • Change from baseline to1 year in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.Baseline to1 year

    The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) assess the severity of Parkinson's disease. This questionnaire is composed of four sections: Part I: non-motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions (Part Ia is assessed by the investigator while part Ib is assessed by the subject, with or without the help of the caregiver); Part II: motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions, designed to be self-administered; Part III: motor examinations consisting of 33 scores based on 18 questions with several right, left or other body distribution scores; Part IV: motor complications: consisting of 6 questions. Each item is scored from 0 to 4, where 0 indicates normal, 1 indicates slight symptoms, 2 indicates mild symptoms, 3 indicates moderate symptoms, and 4 indicates severe symptoms. The total score for each part is obtained from the sum of the corresponding item scores. Higher scores indicate greater impact of PD symptoms.

  • Change from baseline to 2 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.Baseline to 2 years

    The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) assess the severity of Parkinson's disease. This questionnaire is composed of four sections: Part I: non-motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions (Part Ia is assessed by the investigator while part Ib is assessed by the subject, with or without the help of the caregiver); Part II: motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions, designed to be self-administered; Part III: motor examinations consisting of 33 scores based on 18 questions with several right, left or other body distribution scores; Part IV: motor complications: consisting of 6 questions. Each item is scored from 0 to 4, where 0 indicates normal, 1 indicates slight symptoms, 2 indicates mild symptoms, 3 indicates moderate symptoms, and 4 indicates severe symptoms. The total score for each part is obtained from the sum of the corresponding item scores. Higher scores indicate greater impact of PD symptoms.

  • Change from baseline to 3 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.Baseline to 3 years

    The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) assess the severity of Parkinson's disease. This questionnaire is composed of four sections: Part I: non-motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions (Part Ia is assessed by the investigator while part Ib is assessed by the subject, with or without the help of the caregiver); Part II: motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions, designed to be self-administered; Part III: motor examinations consisting of 33 scores based on 18 questions with several right, left or other body distribution scores; Part IV: motor complications: consisting of 6 questions. Each item is scored from 0 to 4, where 0 indicates normal, 1 indicates slight symptoms, 2 indicates mild symptoms, 3 indicates moderate symptoms, and 4 indicates severe symptoms. The total score for each part is obtained from the sum of the corresponding item scores. Higher scores indicate greater impact of PD symptoms.

  • Change from baseline to 4 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.Baseline to 4 years

    The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) assess the severity of Parkinson's disease. This questionnaire is composed of four sections: Part I: non-motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions (Part Ia is assessed by the investigator while part Ib is assessed by the subject, with or without the help of the caregiver); Part II: motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions, designed to be self-administered; Part III: motor examinations consisting of 33 scores based on 18 questions with several right, left or other body distribution scores; Part IV: motor complications: consisting of 6 questions. Each item is scored from 0 to 4, where 0 indicates normal, 1 indicates slight symptoms, 2 indicates mild symptoms, 3 indicates moderate symptoms, and 4 indicates severe symptoms. The total score for each part is obtained from the sum of the corresponding item scores. Higher scores indicate greater impact of PD symptoms.

  • Change from baseline to 5 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with Parkinson's disease, MDS-UPDRS Part III.Baseline to 5 years

    The Movement Disorders Society Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) assess the severity of Parkinson's disease. This questionnaire is composed of four sections: Part I: non-motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions (Part Ia is assessed by the investigator while part Ib is assessed by the subject, with or without the help of the caregiver); Part II: motor experiences of daily living consisting of 13 questions, designed to be self-administered; Part III: motor examinations consisting of 33 scores based on 18 questions with several right, left or other body distribution scores; Part IV: motor complications: consisting of 6 questions. Each item is scored from 0 to 4, where 0 indicates normal, 1 indicates slight symptoms, 2 indicates mild symptoms, 3 indicates moderate symptoms, and 4 indicates severe symptoms. The total score for each part is obtained from the sum of the corresponding item scores. Higher scores indicate greater impact of PD symptoms.

  • Change from baseline to 6 months in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with disabling tremor, FTM-TRS.Baseline to 6 months

    The Fahn-Tolosa-Marin Tremor Rating Scale (FTMTRS) assesses tremor severity and and consists of three parts. Part A (with a maximum score of 80) rates tremor at rest, during posture, and intentional movements for nine parts of the body, including the head, trunk and limbs; Part B (with a maximum score of 36) rates action tremor of the upper limbs, particularly while writing and pouring liquids; part C the patient rates the impact of tremor on his or her functional disability (speaking, feeding, drinking, hygiene, dressing, writing, and working) with a maximum score of 28. The total score obtained by adding the three parts of the FTM-TRS is 144, with a higher score indicating higher disease severity/disability. The FTM-TRS also includes one separate item dealing with global assessment of tremor-related disability, rated by both patient and examiner on a 5-point scale.

  • Change from baseline to 1 year in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with disabling tremor, FTM-TRS.Baseline to 1 year

    The Fahn-Tolosa-Marin Tremor Rating Scale (FTMTRS) assesses tremor severity and and consists of three parts. Part A (with a maximum score of 80) rates tremor at rest, during posture, and intentional movements for nine parts of the body, including the head, trunk and limbs; Part B (with a maximum score of 36) rates action tremor of the upper limbs, particularly while writing and pouring liquids; part C the patient rates the impact of tremor on his or her functional disability (speaking, feeding, drinking, hygiene, dressing, writing, and working) with a maximum score of 28. The total score obtained by adding the three parts of the FTM-TRS is 144, with a higher score indicating higher disease severity/disability.The FTM-TRS also includes one separate item dealing with global assessment of tremor-related disability, rated by both patient and examiner on a 5-point scale.

  • Change from baseline to 2 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with disabling tremor, FTM-TRS.Baseline to 2 years

    The Fahn-Tolosa-Marin Tremor Rating Scale (FTMTRS) assesses tremor severity and and consists of three parts. Part A (with a maximum score of 80) rates tremor at rest, during posture, and intentional movements for nine parts of the body, including the head, trunk and limbs; Part B (with a maximum score of 36) rates action tremor of the upper limbs, particularly while writing and pouring liquids; part C the patient rates the impact of tremor on his or her functional disability (speaking, feeding, drinking, hygiene, dressing, writing, and working) with a maximum score of 28. The total score obtained by adding the three parts of the FTM-TRS is 144, with a higher score indicating higher disease severity/disability.The FTM-TRS also includes one separate item dealing with global assessment of tremor-related disability, rated by both patient and examiner on a 5-point scale.

  • Change from baseline to 3 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with disabling tremor, FTM-TRS.Baseline to 3 years

    The Fahn-Tolosa-Marin Tremor Rating Scale (FTMTRS) assesses tremor severity and and consists of three parts. Part A (with a maximum score of 80) rates tremor at rest, during posture, and intentional movements for nine parts of the body, including the head, trunk and limbs; Part B (with a maximum score of 36) rates action tremor of the upper limbs, particularly while writing and pouring liquids; part C the patient rates the impact of tremor on his or her functional disability (speaking, feeding, drinking, hygiene, dressing, writing, and working) with a maximum score of 28. The total score obtained by adding the three parts of the FTM-TRS is 144, with a higher score indicating higher disease severity/disability.The FTM-TRS also includes one separate item dealing with global assessment of tremor-related disability, rated by both patient and examiner on a 5-point scale.

  • Change from baseline to 4 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with disabling tremor, FTM-TRS.Baseline to 4 years

    The Fahn-Tolosa-Marin Tremor Rating Scale (FTMTRS) assesses tremor severity and and consists of three parts. Part A (with a maximum score of 80) rates tremor at rest, during posture, and intentional movements for nine parts of the body, including the head, trunk and limbs; Part B (with a maximum score of 36) rates action tremor of the upper limbs, particularly while writing and pouring liquids; part C the patient rates the impact of tremor on his or her functional disability (speaking, feeding, drinking, hygiene, dressing, writing, and working) with a maximum score of 28. The total score obtained by adding the three parts of the FTM-TRS is 144, with a higher score indicating higher disease severity/disability. The FTM-TRS also includes one separate item dealing with global assessment of tremor-related disability, rated by both patient and examiner on a 5-point scale.

  • Change from baseline to 5 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with disabling tremor, FTM-TRS.Baseline to 5 years

    The Fahn-Tolosa-Marin Tremor Rating Scale (FTMTRS) assesses tremor severity and and consists of three parts. Part A (with a maximum score of 80) rates tremor at rest, during posture, and intentional movements for nine parts of the body, including the head, trunk and limbs; Part B (with a maximum score of 36) rates action tremor of the upper limbs, particularly while writing and pouring liquids; part C the patient rates the impact of tremor on his or her functional disability (speaking, feeding, drinking, hygiene, dressing, writing, and working) with a maximum score of 28. The total score obtained by adding the three parts of the FTM-TRS is 144, with a higher score indicating higher disease severity/disability.The FTM-TRS also includes one separate item dealing with global assessment of tremor-related disability, rated by both patient and examiner on a 5-point scale.

  • Change from baseline to 6 months in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with dystonia (except for cervical dystonia), BFMDRS movement scale.Baseline to 6 months

    The BFMDRS consists consists of a movement subscale and a disability subscale. The movement scale measures dystonia in nine body regions (including the eyes, mouth, speech and swallowing, neck, trunk, arms, and legs). Each domain is scored on degree of provoking factor (0=no dystonia at rest or with action to 4=dystonia present at rest) and severity factor (0=no dystonia to 4=extreme/severe dystonia). Scores are weighted yielding a total score ranging from 0 to 120. The disability scale is a functional marker consisting of parental- or self-reported daily activities (involving speech, handwriting, feeding, eating, swallowing, hygiene, dressing, and walking), with scores ranging from 0 (completely independent) to 30 (completely dependent). A higher score indicates higher disease severity/disability.

  • Change from baseline to 1 year in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with dystonia (except for cervical dystonia), BFMDRS movement scale.Baseline to 1 year

    The BFMDRS consists consists of a movement subscale and a disability subscale. The movement scale measures dystonia in nine body regions (including the eyes, mouth, speech and swallowing, neck, trunk, arms, and legs). Each domain is scored on degree of provoking factor (0=no dystonia at rest or with action to 4=dystonia present at rest) and severity factor (0=no dystonia to 4=extreme/severe dystonia). Scores are weighted yielding a total score ranging from 0 to 120. The disability scale is a functional marker consisting of parental- or self-reported daily activities (involving speech, handwriting, feeding, eating, swallowing, hygiene, dressing, and walking), with scores ranging from 0 (completely independent) to 30 (completely dependent). A higher score indicates higher disease severity/disability.

  • Change from baseline to 2 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with dystonia (except for cervical dystonia), BFMDRS movement scale.Baseline to 2 years

    The BFMDRS consists consists of a movement subscale and a disability subscale. The movement scale measures dystonia in nine body regions (including the eyes, mouth, speech and swallowing, neck, trunk, arms, and legs). Each domain is scored on degree of provoking factor (0=no dystonia at rest or with action to 4=dystonia present at rest) and severity factor (0=no dystonia to 4=extreme/severe dystonia). Scores are weighted yielding a total score ranging from 0 to 120. The disability scale is a functional marker consisting of parental- or self-reported daily activities (involving speech, handwriting, feeding, eating, swallowing, hygiene, dressing, and walking), with scores ranging from 0 (completely independent) to 30 (completely dependent). A higher score indicates higher disease severity/disability.

  • Change from baseline to 3 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with dystonia (except for cervical dystonia), BFMDRS movement scale.Baseline to 3 years

    The BFMDRS consists consists of a movement subscale and a disability subscale. The movement scale measures dystonia in nine body regions (including the eyes, mouth, speech and swallowing, neck, trunk, arms, and legs). Each domain is scored on degree of provoking factor (0=no dystonia at rest or with action to 4=dystonia present at rest) and severity factor (0=no dystonia to 4=extreme/severe dystonia). Scores are weighted yielding a total score ranging from 0 to 120. The disability scale is a functional marker consisting of parental- or self-reported daily activities (involving speech, handwriting, feeding, eating, swallowing, hygiene, dressing, and walking), with scores ranging from 0 (completely independent) to 30 (completely dependent). A higher score indicates higher disease severity/disability.

  • Change from baseline to 4 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with dystonia (except for cervical dystonia), BFMDRS movement scale.Baseline to 4 years

    The BFMDRS consists consists of a movement subscale and a disability subscale. The movement scale measures dystonia in nine body regions (including the eyes, mouth, speech and swallowing, neck, trunk, arms, and legs). Each domain is scored on degree of provoking factor (0=no dystonia at rest or with action to 4=dystonia present at rest) and severity factor (0=no dystonia to 4=extreme/severe dystonia). Scores are weighted yielding a total score ranging from 0 to 120. The disability scale is a functional marker consisting of parental- or self-reported daily activities (involving speech, handwriting, feeding, eating, swallowing, hygiene, dressing, and walking), with scores ranging from 0 (completely independent) to 30 (completely dependent). A higher score indicates higher disease severity/disability.

  • Change from baseline to 5 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with dystonia (except for cervical dystonia), BFMDRS movement scale.Baseline to 5 years

    The BFMDRS consists consists of a movement subscale and a disability subscale. The movement scale measures dystonia in nine body regions (including the eyes, mouth, speech and swallowing, neck, trunk, arms, and legs). Each domain is scored on degree of provoking factor (0=no dystonia at rest or with action to 4=dystonia present at rest) and severity factor (0=no dystonia to 4=extreme/severe dystonia). Scores are weighted yielding a total score ranging from 0 to 120. The disability scale is a functional marker consisting of parental- or self-reported daily activities (involving speech, handwriting, feeding, eating, swallowing, hygiene, dressing, and walking), with scores ranging from 0 (completely independent) to 30 (completely dependent). A higher score indicates higher disease severity/disability.

  • Change from baseline to 6 months in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with cervical dystonia, TWSTRS severity scale.Baseline to 6 months

    The Toronto Western Spasmodic Torticollis Rating Scale (TWSTRS) severity subscale rates the severity of cervical dystonia. This scale consists of three subscales measuring symptom severity, disability, and pain. The severity scale is rated by the clinician and is composed of 11 items with a maximum score of 35. The disability and pain scales are patient-rated. The disability scale is composed of 6 items with a maximum score of 30. The pain scale is composed of 3 items with a maximum score of 20. The total TWSTRS score ranges from 0 to 85 points. Higher scores indicate higher severity/disability/pain.

  • Change from baseline to 1 year in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with cervical dystonia, TWSTRS severity scale.Baseline to 1 year

    The Toronto Western Spasmodic Torticollis Rating Scale (TWSTRS) severity subscale rates the severity of cervical dystonia. This scale consists of three subscales measuring symptom severity, disability, and pain. The severity scale is rated by the clinician and is composed of 11 items with a maximum score of 35. The disability and pain scales are patient-rated. The disability scale is composed of 6 items with a maximum score of 30. The pain scale is composed of 3 items with a maximum score of 20. The total TWSTRS score ranges from 0 to 85 points. Higher scores indicate higher severity/disability/pain.

  • Change from baseline to 2 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with cervical dystonia, TWSTRS severity scale.Baseline to 2 years

    The Toronto Western Spasmodic Torticollis Rating Scale (TWSTRS) severity subscale rates the severity of cervical dystonia. This scale consists of three subscales measuring symptom severity, disability, and pain. The severity scale is rated by the clinician and is composed of 11 items with a maximum score of 35. The disability and pain scales are patient-rated. The disability scale is composed of 6 items with a maximum score of 30. The pain scale is composed of 3 items with a maximum score of 20. The total TWSTRS score ranges from 0 to 85 points. Higher scores indicate higher severity/disability/pain.

  • Change from baseline to 3 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with cervical dystonia, TWSTRS severity scale.Baseline to 3 years

    The Toronto Western Spasmodic Torticollis Rating Scale (TWSTRS) severity subscale rates the severity of cervical dystonia. This scale consists of three subscales measuring symptom severity, disability, and pain. The severity scale is rated by the clinician and is composed of 11 items with a maximum score of 35. The disability and pain scales are patient-rated. The disability scale is composed of 6 items with a maximum score of 30. The pain scale is composed of 3 items with a maximum score of 20. The total TWSTRS score ranges from 0 to 85 points. Higher scores indicate higher severity/disability/pain.

  • Change from baseline to 4 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with cervical dystonia, TWSTRS severity scale.Baseline to 4 years

    The Toronto Western Spasmodic Torticollis Rating Scale (TWSTRS) severity subscale rates the severity of cervical dystonia. This scale consists of three subscales measuring symptom severity, disability, and pain. The severity scale is rated by the clinician and is composed of 11 items with a maximum score of 35. The disability and pain scales are patient-rated. The disability scale is composed of 6 items with a maximum score of 30. The pain scale is composed of 3 items with a maximum score of 20. The total TWSTRS score ranges from 0 to 85 points. Higher scores indicate higher severity/disability/pain.

  • Change from baseline to 5 years in disease-specific motor rating scale. For subjects with cervical dystonia, TWSTRS severity scale.Baseline to 5 years

    The Toronto Western Spasmodic Torticollis Rating Scale (TWSTRS) severity subscale rates the severity of cervical dystonia. This scale consists of three subscales measuring symptom severity, disability, and pain. The severity scale is rated by the clinician and is composed of 11 items with a maximum score of 35. The disability and pain scales are patient-rated. The disability scale is composed of 6 items with a maximum score of 30. The pain scale is composed of 3 items with a maximum score of 20. The total TWSTRS score ranges from 0 to 85 points. Higher scores indicate higher severity/disability/pain.

  • Incidence of device- and procedure-related serious adverse events at 6 monthsAt 6 months

    Serious Adverse Events related to the device and procedure will be assessed. If the AE meets any of the criteria below, it is regarded as a serious adverse event (SAE). a) Led to a death, b) Led to a serious deterioration in health of the subject, that either resulted in i) a life-threatening illness or injury, or ii) a permanent impairment of a body structure or a body function, or iii) in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or iv) medical or surgical intervention to prevent life threatening illness or injury or permanent impairment to a body structure or a body function. v) chronic disease c) Led to fetal distress, fetal death or a congenital abnormality or birth defect.

  • Incidence of device- and procedure-related serious adverse events at 1 yearAt 1 year

    Serious Adverse Events related to the device and procedure will be assessed. If the AE meets any of the criteria below, it is regarded as a serious adverse event (SAE). a) Led to a death, b) Led to a serious deterioration in health of the subject, that either resulted in i) a life-threatening illness or injury, or ii) a permanent impairment of a body structure or a body function, or iii) in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or iv) medical or surgical intervention to prevent life threatening illness or injury or permanent impairment to a body structure or a body function. v) chronic disease c) Led to fetal distress, fetal death or a congenital abnormality or birth defect.

  • Incidence of device- and procedure-related serious adverse events at 2 yearsAt 2 years

    Serious Adverse Events related to the device and procedure will be assessed. If the AE meets any of the criteria below, it is regarded as a serious adverse event (SAE). a) Led to a death, b) Led to a serious deterioration in health of the subject, that either resulted in i) a life-threatening illness or injury, or ii) a permanent impairment of a body structure or a body function, or iii) in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or iv) medical or surgical intervention to prevent life threatening illness or injury or permanent impairment to a body structure or a body function. v) chronic disease c) Led to fetal distress, fetal death or a congenital abnormality or birth defect.

  • Incidence of device- and procedure-related serious adverse events at 3 yearsAt 3 years

    Serious Adverse Events related to the device and procedure will be assessed. If the AE meets any of the criteria below, it is regarded as a serious adverse event (SAE). a) Led to a death, b) Led to a serious deterioration in health of the subject, that either resulted in i) a life-threatening illness or injury, or ii) a permanent impairment of a body structure or a body function, or iii) in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or iv) medical or surgical intervention to prevent life threatening illness or injury or permanent impairment to a body structure or a body function. v) chronic disease c) Led to fetal distress, fetal death or a congenital abnormality or birth defect.

  • Incidence of device- and procedure-related serious adverse events at 4 yearsAt 4 years

    Serious Adverse Events related to the device and procedure will be assessed. If the AE meets any of the criteria below, it is regarded as a serious adverse event (SAE). a) Led to a death, b) Led to a serious deterioration in health of the subject, that either resulted in i) a life-threatening illness or injury, or ii) a permanent impairment of a body structure or a body function, or iii) in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or iv) medical or surgical intervention to prevent life threatening illness or injury or permanent impairment to a body structure or a body function. v) chronic disease c) Led to fetal distress, fetal death or a congenital abnormality or birth defect.

  • Incidence of device- and procedure-related serious adverse events at 5 yearsAt 5 years

    Serious Adverse Events related to the device and procedure will be assessed. If the AE meets any of the criteria below, it is regarded as a serious adverse event (SAE). a) Led to a death, b) Led to a serious deterioration in health of the subject, that either resulted in i) a life-threatening illness or injury, or ii) a permanent impairment of a body structure or a body function, or iii) in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, or iv) medical or surgical intervention to prevent life threatening illness or injury or permanent impairment to a body structure or a body function. v) chronic disease c) Led to fetal distress, fetal death or a congenital abnormality or birth defect.