Rehabilitation Program for Spine Pain

This study is observing the effects of a rehabilitation program for individuals with neck pain, low back pain, scoliosis, or thoracic injuries. The program involves spine-specific strengthening exercises targeting core muscles like the Multifidus and Transversus Abdominus. Participants will have at least 20 in-clinic visits over 10 weeks. Researchers want to understand how this program affects pain (measured by a Visual Analogue Scale), disability, and quality of life over 2 years. You may be able to join if you are between 18 and 89 years old and have been prescribed physical rehabilitation for spine pain. The study is currently observing 5000 participants.

Study design
This is an observational study, meaning researchers will watch and collect information from 5000 participants. It is not a randomized trial where participants are assigned to different treatments.
What's involved
You would participate in an in-clinic exercise program with a minimum of 20 visits at 2 visits per week. Your pain, disability, and quality of life will be measured at 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for 2 years after starting the program, with measurements taken at 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT04081896

Evaluation of the Effects of a Rehabilitation Program in Individuals with Spine Pain

Recruiting
Not specifiedAges 18–89Observational
SpineZone Medical Fitness, Inc
~5,000 participants
Updated 2024-11-29 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Exercise

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in pain: Visual Analogue Scale (VAS), 0-100mm
Measured over 3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years
+4 more outcomes measured
Neck Pain
Low Back Pain
Scoliosis
Thoracic Injuries

NCT04081896

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • SpineZone

    San Diego, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Bahar Shahidi, P.T., Ph.D. · STUDY_DIRECTOR · University of California, San Diego

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

over 18 years of age
under 89 years of age
Patients who have been prescribed physical rehabilitation for management of spine pain

Exclusion

under 18 years of age
over 89 years of age
Patients who are unable or medically unsafe to participate in physical rehabilitation for management of spine pain as determined by the prescribing physician
  • Change in pain: Visual Analogue Scale (VAS), 0-100mm3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years

    difference in VAS (in mm) between initial evaluation and endpoint

  • Change in disability (%)3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years

    difference in Neck Disability Index (for neck pain participants) or Oswestry Disability Index (for Low Back Pain participants), or Scoliosis Research Society Outcomes questionnaire-22 (for Scoliosis participants) between initial evaluation and endpoint

  • Change in quality of life3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years

    difference in EQ5-D (points) score between initial evaluation and endpoint

  • Change in strength (lbs*deg)3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years

    difference in spine extension torque as measured by isokinetic dynamometer between initial evaluation and endpoint

  • Change in Range of Motion (deg)3 months, 6 months, 1 year, and 2 years

    difference in total spine flexion and extension (in degrees) between initial evaluation and endpoint