Complex Adult Deformity Surgery (CADS) Study

This study is looking at the results of surgery for complex adult spinal deformities like scoliosis (a sideways curve of the spine) and kyphosis (a rounded back). It aims to understand how well these surgeries work and to find the best ways to treat patients. Researchers will collect information on your health before and after surgery, including how your spine looks on X-rays and how your pain and daily activities are affected. They will also look at any complications and the need for additional surgeries. This study is for adults aged 18 and older who have a diagnosis of adult spinal deformity and meet certain criteria for complex cases. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll 1500 participants.

Study design
This is an observational study, meaning researchers will collect information about your surgery and recovery without assigning you to a specific treatment. It plans to include 1500 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your health and spine will be checked at 3 months, and then at 1, 2, 5, and 10 years after your surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT04194138

Complex Adult Deformity Surgery (CADS)

Recruiting
Not specifiedAges 18+Observational
International Spine Study Group Foundation
~1,500 participants
Updated 2026-02-17 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Index or spine revision surgery for complex adult spinal deformity

At a glance

Recruiting sites
17 of 18 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) 22r
Measured over Change from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up
+11 more outcomes measured
Adult Spinal Deformity
Scoliosis
Kyphosis
Sagittal Imbalance

NCT04194138

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 18 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Columbia University Medical Center

    New York, New Yorkstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Denver International Spine Center, Rocky Mountain Hospital for Children and Presbyterian St. Luke's Medical Center

    Denver, Coloradostudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Duke University Health System

    Durham, North Carolinastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Hospital for Special Surgery, Department of Orthopedic Surgery

    New York, New Yorkstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • John Hopkins University, Department of Orthopedic Surgery

    Baltimore, Marylandstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Medical City Spine Hospital - Southwest Scoliosis Institute

    Dallas, Texasstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Northwell Health

    New York, New Yorkstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Norton Leatherman Spine Center

    Louisville, Kentuckystudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Shay Bess, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR
  • Lawrence Lenke, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Columbia University, Department of Orthopedic Surgery
  • Christopher Shaffrey, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Duke University, Departments of Neurosurgery and Orthopaedic Surgery

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

PI-LL ≥ 25 degrees
TPA ≥ 30 degrees
SVA\>15cm
Thoracic scoliosis ≥ 70 degrees
Thoracolumbar/lumbar scoliosis ≥ 50 degrees
Global coronal malalignment \>7cm 2. Procedural criteria:
Posterior spinal fusion \> 12 levels
3 column osteotomy or ACR 3. Geriatric criteria:
Age \>65 years and minimum 7 levels of spinal instrumentation during surgery
  • Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) 22rChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Scoliosis specific patient reported outcome

  • Oswestry Disability Index (ODI)Change from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Spine specific patient reported outcome

  • Veterans RAND 12 Item Health Survey (VR-12)Change from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Patient reported outcome

  • Radiographic EvaluationChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Cobb angles, Coronal \& Sagittal balance, spinopelvic measures

  • Patient-Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) - AnxietyChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Computer adaptive PROs

  • Patient-Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) - DepressionChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Computer adaptive PRO

  • Patient-Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) - Pain InterferenceChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Computer adaptive PRO

  • Patient-Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) - Physical FunctionChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Computer adaptive PRO

  • Patient-Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) - Social Role SatisfactionChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Computer adaptive PRO

  • Patient-Reported Outcome Measurement Information System (PROMIS) - Social Satisfaction (DSA)Change from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Computer adaptive PRO

  • Visual Analog Scale - Back PainChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Self-reported back pain on scale of 0 (No pain) to 10 (severe pain)

  • Visual Analog Scale - Leg PainChange from Preop to 3 months and 1, 2, 5 & 10 year follow-up

    Self-reported leg pain on scale of 0 (No pain) to 10 (severe pain)