Digital Memory Notebook for Cognitive Support

This study is testing a tablet-based application called the Digital Memory Notebook (DMN) to help older adults with memory concerns in their daily lives. The DMN is designed to overcome limitations of paper-based memory aids by offering organized digital files, search functions, and alarms. You might be able to join if you are at least 60 years old, speak English fluently, and have subjective cognitive complaints (SCC) or mild cognitive impairment (MCI). You will also need a study partner to complete surveys. The study will measure how often you use the DMN application by tracking the number of entries you make each week for 10 weeks. The current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 20 participants. It is not specified if it is randomized or blinded.
What's involved
You would participate in 2-hour weekly sessions for 6 weeks to learn how to use the DMN, continue using the app for 4 weeks afterward, and complete questionnaires at three time points over 12 weeks. Your study partner will also complete questionnaires.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will continue to use the DMN app for 4 weeks after the 6-week intervention, and data will be assessed for 4 weeks after the last session.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT04240665

The Digital Memory Notebook

Enrolling by Invitation
NAAges 60+InterventionalSupportive care
University of California, Davis
~20 participants
Updated 2026-04-03 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Digital Memory Notebook (DMN) Application

At a glance

Recruiting sites
0 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Real-time data extracted from the DMN Application
Measured over Change in number of entries assessed weekly from first weekly session through Week 6 weekly session and for 4 weeks after the completion of the last session
Prodromal Alzheimer's Disease
Mild Cognitive Impairment
Subjective Cognitive Complaints

NCT04240665

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Alzheimer's Disease Center, University of California, Davis

    Sacramento, Californiano site contact published

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Sarah Farias, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of California, Davis

This trial hasn't published a contact. View it on ClinicalTrials.gov

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Diagnosis of subjective cognitive complaints (SCC) or Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI)
Adults at least 60 years of age (no upper age limit)
Fluent in English
Available informant (study partner) to complete surveys

Exclusion

Unable to consent
Pregnant women
Prisoners
  • Real-time data extracted from the DMN ApplicationChange in number of entries assessed weekly from first weekly session through Week 6 weekly session and for 4 weeks after the completion of the last session

    data that is automatically collected by DMN (Calendar entries, to-do list entries, alarms set, journal entries)