Pericapsular Nerve Block for Total Hip Replacement Pain

This study is looking at ways to manage pain after total hip replacement surgery. It compares two different nerve blocks: the Pericapsular Nerve Block and the Fascia Iliaca Nerve Block. Researchers want to see which one is more effective at reducing pain and the need for opioid pain medication after surgery. You may be able to join if you are between 18 and 80 years old, are having a primary total hip replacement using the anterior approach, and have not used opioids recently. The study will measure your pain using a Visual Analog Pain Scale (VAS) for up to 48 hours after surgery and track your opioid use for one month after surgery. This study aims to enroll 78 participants.

Study design
This is a randomized, controlled study where participants will receive one of two standard nerve block treatments for pain management. It plans to include 78 adult participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain will be monitored for up to 48 hours after surgery, and your opioid consumption will be tracked for one month after surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT04729686

The Pericapsular Nerve Block in Total Hip Arthroplasty

Recruiting
PHASE4Ages 18–80InterventionalTreatment
LifeBridge Health
~78 participants
Updated 2025-01-22 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Pericapsular Nerve BlockFascia Iliaca Nerve Block

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in Visual Analog Pain Scale (VAS) Score
Measured over Every 4 hours from end of surgery to 48 hours post surgery or discharge
+1 more outcome measured
Hip Osteoarthritis
Hip Arthropathy

NCT04729686

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Sinai Hospital of Baltimore

    Baltimore, Marylandstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Ronald Delanois, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · LifeBridge Health

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Provision of signed and dated informed consent form
Stated willingness to comply with all study procedures and availability for the duration of the study
Planned primary total hip arthroplasty with anterior (Smith-Peterson) approach
ASA score of 1 to 3
Indicated for one of the two nerve block groups
Must be opioid naïve at screening as defined by the FDA - According to the Food and Drug Administration, opioid-tolerant patients were those currently receiving or who had previously received 60 mg PO morphine per day, 25 mcg transdermal fentanyl per hour, 30 mg PO oxycodone per day, 8 mg PO hydromorphone per day, 25 mg PO oxymorphone per day, 60 mg PO hydrocodone per day, or an equivalent dose of another opioid for a duration of one week or longer (16)

Exclusion

Current or previous diagnosis of "chronic pain"
Opioid tolerant at time of screening (for a week or longer, at least 60 mg of morphine daily, or at least 30 mg of oral oxycodone daily, or at least 8 mg of oral hydromorphone daily or an equianalgesic dose of another opioid.)
Diagnosis of ankylosing spondylitis
Allergy to any potential medications utilized in any of the two groups
Conversion of patient to general anesthesia intraoperatively
Treatment with another investigational drug or other intervention for pain
Any condition(s) or diagnosis, both physical or psychological, or physical exam finding in the opinion of the investigator that would precludes participation
  • Change in Visual Analog Pain Scale (VAS) ScoreEvery 4 hours from end of surgery to 48 hours post surgery or discharge

    Score recorded by drawing a vertical line on a 100 mm horizontal line between "No Pain" (0 mm) and "Worst Pain" (100 mm)

  • Postoperative Opioid Consumption in mgSurgery to 1 month post surgery

    Total opioid consumption will be recorded during postoperative period and at 1 month follow-up visit