Neurostimulation for Chronic Upper Limb Pain After Brachial Plexus Injury
This study is looking at how high-frequency spinal cord stimulation (HF10 SCS) affects chronic pain in the upper arm after a brachial plexus injury (damage to the network of nerves that sends signals from your spinal cord to your shoulder, arm, and hand). You might be able to join if you are over 18, have had this type of neuropathic pain (nerve pain) for at least three months, and are already planning to receive HF10 SCS for your pain. The researchers want to see if this treatment helps reduce your pain intensity and improve your overall pain experience over time, with measurements taken regularly for up to three years. The study is currently observing participants, but its exact status is unclear.
- Study design
- This is an observational study that will follow about 20 adults who are receiving high-frequency spinal cord stimulation.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- You would be followed for up to 36 months (3 years) after starting treatment, with pain levels measured at several points during this time.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Neurostimulation for Treatment of Chronic Upper Limb Pain After Brachial Plexus Injury
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
2 sites across 2 statesStudy leadership
- Christy Hunt, DO · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Mayo Clinic
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Change in neuropathic painBaseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 18 months, 24 months, and 36 months
Measured using the patient reported Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI) which uses a scale of 0 = "have not felt such pain" and 10 = "feel it the worst" for a total score with a higher score indicates greater pain.
- Change in multidimensional pain inventoryBaseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 18 months, 24 months, and 36 months
Measured using the West Haven-Yale Multidimensional pain inventory self-reported questionnaire to assess the impact of pain on daily living
- Change in Douleur Neuropathique 4 (DN4) Questionnairebaseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 18 months, 24 months, and 36 months
Change in DN4 questionnaire to estimate the probability of neuropathic pain with seven questions asking patients about quality of pain and three questions for physical examination of pain. Questions are yes = 1 or no = 0 to obtain a patient's total score out of 10, higher scores indicate more probability of pain.
- Change in pain intensityBaseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 18 months, 24 months, and 36 months
Measured using the PROMIS-CAT pain intensity scale
- Change in pain interferenceBaseline, 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 18 months, 24 months, and 36 months
Measured using the PROMIS-CAT pain interference scale