Phase 2 CartiLife® for Knee Cartilage Defects

This study is testing a treatment called CartiLife® for adults with knee cartilage damage due to injury or wear-and-tear. CartiLife® uses your own cartilage cells, grown into small beads, which are then implanted into the damaged area of your knee. Researchers want to see if CartiLife® can help regenerate (regrow) cartilage and improve how your knee functions, including sports and recreational activities. They will measure this improvement 48 weeks after the procedure. You might be able to join if you are over 18 and have a specific size of cartilage lesion in your knee. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll 25 participants.

Study design
This is an open-label, Phase 2 study, meaning both you and your doctors will know you are receiving CartiLife®. It plans to enroll 25 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your knee function and cartilage defect volume will be measured 48 weeks after the operation.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT04744402

Phase 2 Clinical Trial of CartiLife® in the United States

Recruiting
PHASE2Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Biosolution Co., Ltd.
~25 participants
Updated 2023-08-28 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Autologous Chondrocyte Implantation (CartiLife®)

At a glance

Recruiting sites
4 of 5 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in KOOS (Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score) function (sports and recreational activities)
Measured over Week 0 (pre-operation) to Week 48 (post-operation)
+1 more outcome measured
Articular Cartilage Defect
Articular Cartilage Degeneration

NCT04744402

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 5 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Biosolutions Clinical Research Center

    La Mesa, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Horizon Clinical Research

    La Mesa, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Lafayette General Health

    Lafayette, Louisianastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Ohio State University

    Columbus, Ohiostudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Tilda Research

    Irvine, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Not yet recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Jungsun Lee, Ph.D · STUDY_DIRECTOR · Biosolution Co., Ltd.

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Exclusion

Serum ALT and AST \> 3 x upper limit of normal
Serum creatinine \> 1.5 x upper limit of normal
PT/INR out of normal range
Hemoglobin \< 10 g/dL for female subject and hemoglobin \< 11 g/dL for male subject
Platelets out of normal range
Hemoglobin A1c levels \> 9%
  • Change in KOOS (Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score) function (sports and recreational activities)Week 0 (pre-operation) to Week 48 (post-operation)

    The KOOS (Knee Injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score) is a reliable and valid patient-reported outcome measurement tool that evaluates both short-term and long-term consequences of knee injury. The 5 separately scored subscales of Pain, other Symptoms, Function in daily living (ADL), Function in Sport and Recreation (Sport/Rec), and knee-related QOL may enrich clinical and research data interpretation (Roos and Lohmander, 2003; Collins et al, 2011). The score ranges from 0 to 100, with 0 representing extreme problems and 100 representing no problems.

  • Change in volume fill of cartilage defect scoreWeek 0 (pre-operation) to Week 48 (post-operation)

    Volume fill of cartilage defect score from MOCART 2.0 Criteria (Schreiner, et al, 2019). The score is from 0 to 20, with 0 representing "\<25% filling of total defect volume OR complete delamination in situ" and 20 representing "Complete fill OR minor hypertrophy (100% to 150% filling of total defect volume).