Radiotherapy and Atezolizumab for Locally Advanced Skin Cancer

This study is testing the safety and side effects of combining radiotherapy (radiation treatment) with a drug called atezolizumab for patients with locally advanced cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma (a type of skin cancer). This cancer may be borderline resectable (can be removed by surgery but with difficulty) or unresectable (cannot be removed by surgery). Radiotherapy uses precise radiation to target tumors, while atezolizumab is an immunotherapy that helps your body's immune system fight cancer. The study aims to see how safe this combination is and how well it works. It plans to enroll 12 participants and is currently unclear if it's recruiting. You may be eligible if you have this type of skin cancer that has spread to nearby tissue or lymph nodes, and your disease can be measured.

Study design
This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 12 participants. It is testing a combination of two treatments.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
The study will measure adverse events for up to 90 days after treatment.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT05085496

Radiotherapy in Combination With Atezolizumab in Locally Advanced Borderline Resectable or Unresectable Cutaneous SCC

Recruiting
PHASE1Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
City of Hope Medical Center
~12 participants
Updated 2026-01-28 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:AtezolizumabStereotactic Body Radiation Therapy

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Dose limiting toxicity
Measured over Up to 3 weeks
+1 more outcome measured
Locally Advanced Skin Squamous Cell Carcinoma
Resectable Skin Squamous Cell Carcinoma
Unresectable Skin Squamous Cell Carcinoma

NCT05085496

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • City of Hope Medical Center

    Duarte, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Arya Amini · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · City of Hope Medical Center

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Histologically or cytologically confirmed locally advanced borderline resectable or unresectable cSCC and oligometastatic (1-3 sites of metastatic disease) cSCC receiving therapy to the primary
Measurable disease defined as lesions that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter to be recorded) as \> 10 mm with computed tomography (CT) scan or \> 10 mm with calipers by clinical exam by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1
Written informed consent and any locally-required authorization (e.g., Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act \[HIPAA\] in the United States of America \[USA\], European Union \[EU\] Data Privacy Directive in the EU) obtained from the patient prior to performing any protocol-related procedures, including screening evaluations
Age \>= 18 years at time of study entry
Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status =\< 1
Life expectancy \>= 24 weeks
Body weight \> 30 kg
Hemoglobin \>= 9.0 g/dL
Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) \>= 1.0 x 10\^9/L (\>= 1000 per mm\^3)
Platelet count \>= 75 x 10\^9/L (\>= 75,000 per mm\^3)
Serum bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN). This will not apply to patients with confirmed Gilbert's syndrome (persistent or recurrent hyperbilirubinemia that is predominantly unconjugated in the absence of hemolysis or hepatic pathology), who will be allowed only in consultation with their physician
Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase \[SGOT\])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase \[SGPT\]) =\< 2.5 x institutional upper limit of normal
Serum albumin 25 g/L (2.5 g/dL)
Measured creatinine clearance (CL) \> 40 mL/min or calculated creatinine CL\>40 mL/min by the Cockcroft-Gault formula or by 24-hour urine collection for determination of creatinine clearance
For patients receiving therapeutic anticoagulation: stable anticoagulant regimen
Evidence of post-menopausal status or negative urinary or serum pregnancy test for female pre-menopausal patients. Women will be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months without an alternative medical cause. The following age-specific requirements apply:
Women \< 50 years of age would be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of exogenous hormonal treatments and if they have luteinizing hormone and follicle-stimulating hormone levels in the post-menopausal range for the institution or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy or hysterectomy)
Women \>= 50 years of age would be considered post-menopausal if they have been amenorrheic for 12 months or more following cessation of all exogenous hormonal treatments, had radiation-induced menopause with last menses \> 1 year ago, had chemotherapy-induced menopause with last menses \> 1 year ago, or underwent surgical sterilization (bilateral oophorectomy, bilateral salpingectomy or hysterectomy)
Patient is willing and able to comply with the protocol for the duration of the study including undergoing treatment and scheduled visits and examinations including follow up

Exclusion

Participation in another clinical study with an investigational product during the last 3 months
Patients with active interstitial lung disease (ILD)/pneumonitis or with a history of ILD/pneumonitis requiring steroids
Concurrent enrolment in another clinical study, unless it is an observational (non-interventional) clinical study or during the follow-up period of an interventional study
Any previous treatment with a PD1 or PD-L1 inhibitor, including atezolizumab, anti-PD-L2, anti-CD137, or anti-cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated antigen-4 (CTLA-4) antibody (including ipilimumab or any other antibody or drug specifically targeting T-cell co-stimulation or checkpoint pathways)
Treatment with systemic immunostimulatory agents (including, but not limited to, interferon and interleukin 2 \[IL-2\]) within 4 weeks or 5 half-lives of the drug (whichever is longer) prior to initiation of study treatment
Receipt of the last dose of anticancer therapy (chemotherapy, immunotherapy, endocrine therapy, targeted therapy, biologic therapy, tumor embolization, monoclonal antibodies, other investigational agent) 30 days prior to the first dose of study drug for patients who have received prior tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs) \[e.g., erlotinib, gefitinib and crizotinib\] and within 6 weeks for nitrosourea or mitomycin C. (If sufficient wash-out time has not occurred due to the schedule or pharmacokinetics (PK) properties of an agent, a longer wash-out period may be required.)
Patients with corrected QT (QTc) interval \> 470 msec during screening
Current or prior use of immunosuppressive medication within 14 days (use 28 days if combining atezolizumab with a novel agent) before the first dose of atezolizumab, with the exceptions of intranasal and inhaled corticosteroids or systemic corticosteroids at physiological doses, which are not to exceed 10 mg/day of prednisone, or an equivalent corticosteroid. The following are exceptions to this criterion:
Intranasal, inhaled, topical steroids, or local steroid injections (e.g., intra articular injection)
Systemic corticosteroids at physiologic doses not to exceed 10 mg/day of prednisone or its equivalent
Steroids as premedication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g., CT scan premedication)
Any concurrent chemotherapy, investigational product (IP), biologic, or hormonal therapy that is not part of standard National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) indicated head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (HNSCC) adjuvant concurrent chemoradiotherapy (CRT). Concurrent use of hormonal therapy for non-cancer-related conditions (e.g., hormone replacement therapy) is acceptable
History of allogenic organ or bone marrow transplantation
Active or prior documented autoimmune or inflammatory disorders (including inflammatory bowel disease \[e.g., colitis or Crohn's disease\], diverticulitis \[with the exception of diverticulosis\], systemic lupus erythematosus, Sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener syndrome \[granulomatosis with polyangiitis, Graves' disease, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, uveitis, etc\]). The following are exceptions to this criterion:
Patients with vitiligo or alopecia
Patients with hypothyroidism (e.g., following Hashimoto syndrome) stable on hormone replacement
Any chronic skin condition that does not require systemic therapy
Patients without active disease in the last 5 years may be included but only after consultation with the study physician
Patients with celiac disease controlled by diet alone
Uncontrolled intercurrent illness, including but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, organizing pneumonia, uncontrolled pleural effusion, pericardial effusion, or ascites requiring recurrent drainage procedures (once monthly or more frequently), uncontrolled or symptomatic hypercalcemia (ionized calcium \> 1.5 mmol/L, calcium \> 12 mg/dL or corrected serum calcium ULN), uncontrolled tumor-related pain, uncontrolled hypertension, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, interstitial lung disease, serious chronic gastrointestinal conditions associated with diarrhea, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirement, substantially increase risk of incurring adverse events (AEs) or compromise the ability of the patient to give written informed consent
History of another primary malignancy except for:
Malignancy treated with curative intent and with no known active disease \>= 3 years before the first dose of IP and of low potential risk for recurrence
Adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer or lentigo maligna without evidence of disease
Adequately treated carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease
History of active primary immunodeficiency
Active infection including tuberculosis (clinical evaluation that includes clinical history, physical examination and radiographic findings, and tuberculosis (TB) testing in line with local practice), hepatitis B (known positive hepatitis B virus \[HBV\] surface antigen \[HBsAg\] result), hepatitis C, or human immunodeficiency virus (positive human immunodeficiency virus \[HIV\] 1/2 antibodies). Patients with a past or resolved HBV infection (defined as the presence of hepatitis B core antibody \[anti-HBc\] and absence of HBsAg) are eligible. Patients positive for hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction is negative for HCV RNA
Receipt of live attenuated vaccine within 30 days prior to the first dose of IP. Note: Patients, if enrolled, should not receive live vaccine whilst receiving atezolizumab and up to 5 months after the last dose of atezolizumab
Female patients who are pregnant or breastfeeding or male or female patients of reproductive potential who are not willing to employ highly effective birth control from screening to 5 months after the last dose of atezolizumab monotherapy. Patient must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 72 hours of study entry
Known hypersensitivity to Chinese hamster ovary cell products or to any component of the atezolizumab formulation
History of severe allergic anaphylactic reactions to chimeric or humanized antibodies or fusion proteins
Prior randomization or treatment in a previous atezolizumab clinical study
Judgment by the investigator that the patient is unsuitable to participate in the study and the patient is unlikely to comply with study procedures, restrictions and requirements
  • Dose limiting toxicityUp to 3 weeks
  • Incidence of adverse eventsUp to 90 days

    Toxicity will be assessed by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5 criteria.