Spinal Reflex Training for Spinal Cord Injuries

This study is testing a training method called Spinal Reflex Operant Down Conditioning. This method aims to help people with spinal cord injuries reduce spasticity (muscle stiffness or tightness) in their legs by decreasing the activity of a specific spinal reflex. Researchers are looking for 25 adults with chronic incomplete spinal cord injuries and spasticity who can walk at least 10 meters. The study will measure changes in reflex activity, walking speed, and walking distance to see if the training is effective. The current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This is an interventional study planning to enroll 25 participants. The phase of the study is not specified.
What's involved
You would have approximately 45 visits over about 6 months, participating in the reflex training procedure.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your progress will be checked after the training sessions (around 10 weeks), and then again 1 month and 3 months later.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT05094362

Operant Conditioning of Spinal Reflexes Training System--Reflex Operant Down Conditioning

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalTreatment
Medical University of South Carolina
~25 participants
Updated 2025-09-09 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Spinal Reflex Operant Down Conditioning

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 2 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in reflex activity as measured by the H-reflex amplitude (mV) in response to nerve stimulation
Measured over Before Baseline, after completion of intervention sessions (approximately 10 weeks), 1 month and 3 months after the completion of intervention
+2 more outcomes measured
Spinal Cord Injuries
Neurological Injury
Paralysis
Spasticity, Muscle
2 sites across 1 states
South Carolina2
  • Aiko Thompson, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Medical University of South Carolina

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Change in reflex activity as measured by the H-reflex amplitude (mV) in response to nerve stimulationBefore Baseline, after completion of intervention sessions (approximately 10 weeks), 1 month and 3 months after the completion of intervention

    Decreased H-reflex amplitude indicates reduced reflex activity and a more normal reflex response to muscle activity

  • Change in walking speed (m/s) as measured by the 10-meter Walk Test (10MWT)Before Baseline, after completion of intervention sessions (approximately 10 weeks), 1 month and 3 months after the completion of intervention

    Speed of the participant's fastest comfortable walking speed across 10 meters. Decreased time (sec) demonstrates increased walking speed (m/s)

  • Change in walking distance (meters) as measured by the 6-minute walk testBefore Baseline, after completion of intervention sessions (approximately 10 weeks), 1 month and 3 months after the completion of intervention

    The distance walked in 6 minutes in measured. The participant is asked to walk at his/her fastest comfortable speed on an indoor walkway.