Quadratus Lumborum Block for Total Hip Arthroplasty

This study is looking at how well a Quadratus Lumborum (QL) block, a type of nerve block, helps manage pain after total hip replacement surgery. Researchers want to see if a QL block using 0.25% ropivacaine (a local anesthetic) is more effective for pain relief than a QL block using saline (saltwater, acting as a placebo). They will measure your pain levels for up to 48 hours after surgery. You may be able to join if you are an adult undergoing elective primary total hip replacement surgery, do not have allergies to local anesthetics, peripheral neuropathy, or long-term opioid use. The study is currently enrolling 80 participants.

Study design
This interventional study will involve 80 participants who will be randomly assigned to receive either the active drug or a placebo. It is not specified which phase of testing this study is in.
What's involved
You would receive a QL block with either ropivacaine or saline. Your pain scores will be monitored for up to 48 hours after your surgery.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain scores will be followed for up to 48 hours after your surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT05247255

Quadratus Lumborum Block for Total Hip Arthroplasty

Enrolling by Invitation
EARLY_PHASE1Ages 18+InterventionalPrevention
University of California, Los Angeles
~80 participants
Updated 2026-06-05 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Active ComparatorPlacebo Comparator

At a glance

Recruiting sites
0 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Pain score
Measured over Up to 48 hrs post op
Pain, Postoperative
1 sites across 1 states
California1
  • Pamela Chia, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of California, Los Angeles

This trial hasn't published a contact. View it on ClinicalTrials.gov

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Adult subjects undergoing elective primary total hip arthroplasty

Exclusion

patients age \< 18,
documented allergy to local anesthetic
presence of peripheral neuropathy
patients with current long term opioid use defined as receiving an opioid on most days in a 90 day period
patients with a contraindication to spinal and regional anesthesia such as coagulopathy or infection at the site of the regional technique.
  • Pain scoreUp to 48 hrs post op

    Pain scores will be assessed over 48hrs postop using the visual analog score