Study of Autologous Human Schwann Cells for Severe Nerve Injury
This study is looking at the safety of using your own Schwann cells (a type of nerve cell) to help repair severe peripheral nerve injuries (damage to nerves outside the brain and spinal cord). Researchers will take a small piece of nerve from your leg to get these cells, called Autologous Human Schwann Cell (ahSC), and then inject them along with a nerve graft. This study is open to people aged 18 to 65 who have experienced a severe sciatic nerve injury, brachial plexus injury, or other major nerve injury within the last year. The main goal is to see if there are any side effects from this treatment over a period of up to two years. The current status of this study is unclear, and it plans to enroll 30 participants.
- Study design
- This interventional study plans to enroll 30 participants. It is designed to evaluate the safety and potential harms of the intervention.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for up to 2 years to monitor for treatment-related adverse events.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Safety and Efficacy of Autologous Human Schwann Cell (ahSC) Augmentation in Severe Peripheral Nerve Injury (PNI)
At a glance
Conditions
NCT05541250
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
University of Miami
Miami, Floridastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Study leadership
- W. Dalton Dietrich, MD · STUDY_CHAIR · University of Miami
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
What this trial measures
- Incidence of Treatment-related Adverse Events (AEs)Up to 2 years
Safety will be reported as the incidence of treatment-related AEs as assessed by treating physician