Observational Study of Deep Brain Stimulation for Parkinson's Disease

This study aims to better understand how Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) works in people with Parkinson's disease (PD). PD is a brain disease that worsens over time, affecting movement and thinking. Researchers want to learn how different parts of the brain work together in PD and how this relates to symptoms. This knowledge could help improve future DBS treatments. You may be able to join if you have idiopathic PD (Parkinson's disease with no known cause), are at least 21 years old, and are planning to have DBS surgery at the University of Minnesota (UMN) as part of your routine care. The study will look at how DBS affects reach-related movements, performance on a memory task (N-back task), and symptoms like rigidity (stiffness) and bradykinesia (slow movement). The study plans to enroll 30 participants.

Study design
This is an observational study with an unclear status, planning to enroll 30 participants. It is not specified if it is a randomized or blinded study.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
The primary endpoints are measured at 1 and 2 days, suggesting a short follow-up period after certain assessments.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT05658302

Circuit-Based Deep Brain Stimulation for Parkinson's Disease P1A2&3 Catalyst

Recruiting
Not specifiedAges 21+Observational
University of Minnesota
~30 participants
Updated 2026-01-26 on ClinicalTrials.gov

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
reach-related modulation
Measured over 2 days
+3 more outcomes measured
Parkinson Disease

NCT05658302

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University Of Minnesota

    Minneapolis, Minnesotano site contact published

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Diagnosis of idiopathic PD
Surgery at UMN to implant DBS system with directional lead(s) and multiple independent current control IPG is planned as part of routine clinical care
At least 21 years old

Exclusion

Other significant neurological disorder
History of dementia
Patients with post-operative complications or adverse effects (e.g. ON stimulation dystonias) that affect patient safety or confound the experiment will be excluded from further study
Pregnant women
Known radiation exposure within the last year that is determined to be unsafe when compounded with the expected radiation dose from intraoperative fluoroscopy to place ECoG strip
  • reach-related modulation2 days

    reach-related modulation in beta/HFO power in DBS lead LFPs across OFF, DBS, L-dopa, and DBS+L-dopa conditions.

  • N-back task trials2 days

    directed connectivity between STN and DLPFC compared between the N-back task trials with and without stimulation.

  • rigidity and bradykinesia assessments1 day

    differences in rigidity and bradykinesia assessments between conditions: off-stimulation vs eiDBS-suppression, off-stimulation vs eiDBS-amplification, eiDBS-suppression vs eiDBS-amplification.

  • peak frequency of the ERs + spontaneous LFPs1 day

    the correlation between the peak frequency of the ERs in the GPi (or STN) and that of spontaneous LFPs in the GPi (or STN).