Multisensory Body-Representation in Spinal Cord Injury With Pain

This study is looking at how a treatment combining tDCS (transcranial direct current stimulation, a type of brain stimulation) and bodily illusions might help people with spinal cord injury (SCI) and neuropathic pain (nerve pain). The bodily illusions include the rubber hand illusion and the walking illusion. Researchers want to see if this treatment can reduce your pain and improve your sensory functions. You may be able to join if you are 18-70 years old, speak English, and have persistent neuropathic pain from an SCI for at least three months. The study will measure changes in your pain severity and how pain affects your daily life, as well as changes in your sensory function, over a period of up to 4 weeks. The study is currently unclear about its recruitment status and plans to enroll 30 participants.

Study design
This interventional study plans to enroll 30 participants. It is not specified if it is randomized, blinded, or its phase.
What's involved
You would participate in 10 in-person intervention sessions over 2-4 weeks, either daily or 2-3 times per week. Each session involves two types of illusions for 15 minutes each.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain and sensory functions will be assessed at baseline and up to 4 weeks after starting the interventions.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06010251

Utility of Multisensory Body-Representation in Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) With Pain

Recruiting
NAAges 18–70InterventionalTreatment
University of Miami
~30 participants
Updated 2025-11-21 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:tDCS and bodily illusions

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in neuropathic pain severity assessed by Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI)
Measured over Baseline, up to 4 weeks
+2 more outcomes measured
Spinal Cord Injuries
Neuropathic Pain
1 sites across 1 states
Florida1
  • Eva Widerstrom-Noga, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Miami

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Change in neuropathic pain severity assessed by Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI)Baseline, up to 4 weeks

    The NPSI is a self-reported, validated questionnaire that includes 10 items (on different pain sensations, e.g., burning, squeezing, electric-shock, etc.) used to evaluate the properties of neuropathic pain. Each item is scored on an 11-point NRS (0 meaning no symptom and 10 meaning worst symptom), with higher scores indicating more severe neuropathic pain symptoms.

  • Change in neuropathic pain interference assessed by pain interference questionnaire.Baseline, up to 4 weeks

    The questionnaire consists in a numerical rating of pain interference ranging from 0= No Interference to 10=Extreme interference with activities, mood and sleep

  • Changes associated with sensory function/dysfunction assessed by quantitative sensory testingBaseline, up to 4 weeks

    The sensory test assesses thermal thresholds and includes: cool detection threshold (CDT), warm detection threshold (WDT), cold pain threshold (CPT), hot pain threshold (HPT), all performed using the method of limits: 0 to 50 Celsius (ºC) all values will be reported in Celsius.