Study for Newly Diagnosed Rhabdomyosarcoma

This study is for children and young adults (up to 22 years old) newly diagnosed with rhabdomyosarcoma, a type of cancer. It's testing new ways to treat intermediate and high-risk forms of the disease. Researchers are combining standard chemotherapy drugs like vincristine, dactinomycin, and cyclophosphamide with a drug called liposomal irinotecan. The goal is to see how safe and effective these combinations are, especially when given with radiation therapy or surgery. The study aims to improve how long patients live without the cancer returning (event-free survival) and reduce how often the cancer comes back in the same area (local recurrence rate). This study is currently recruiting participants.

Study design
This is a Phase II study with an adaptive design, meaning it can be adjusted as it goes. It plans to enroll 135 participants and is a single-arm study, which means everyone receives the study treatment.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for 2 years after completing their treatment to assess event-free survival and local recurrence rates.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06023641

Treatment of Newly Diagnosed Rhabdomyosarcoma Using Molecular Risk Stratification and Liposomal Irinotecan Based Therapy in Children With Intermediate and High Risk Disease

Recruiting
PHASE2Up to 22InterventionalTreatment
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
~135 participants
Updated 2026-06-15 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:VincristineDactinomycinCyclophosphamideSurgical ResectionProton beam radiation or external beam radiation or brachytherapyLiposomal irinotecan

At a glance

Recruiting sites
2 of 3 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Maximum tolerated doses (MTDs)
Measured over 4 years
+2 more outcomes measured
Rhabdomyosarcoma
3 sites across 3 states
California1
Tennessee1
Texas1
  • Alberto Pappo, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Stage 1 Group I, Group II
Stage 1 Group III orbital only
Stage 2 Group I, Group II 2. Intermediate-risk: MYOD1 and TP53 negative AND
Stage 4 Group IV and Oberlin 0-1
Stage 1-3, Group I-III N0 3. High-risk: All MYOD1 and TP53 mutant tumors regardless of stage and Group AND/OR
Embryonal, congenital/infantile spindle cell or spindle cell/sclerosing FOXO1 fusion negative o Group IV ≥ 10 year of age and Oberlin ≥ 2
Alveolar, spindle cell/sclerosing FOXO1 fusion positive
N1
Stage 4 Group IV
Participant has received no prior radiotherapy or chemotherapy for rhabdomyosarcoma (excluding steroids) unless an emergency situation requires local tumor treatment (discuss with PI).
Initiation of chemotherapy is planned within 6 weeks (42 days) of the definitive biopsy or surgical resection.
Adequate bone marrow function defined as:
Peripheral absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 750/μL
Platelet count ≥ 75,000/μL (transfusion independent)
Adequate liver function defined as total bilirubin \< 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN) for age. Participants with biliary or hepatic primaries with bilirubin values greater than 1.5 x ULN may be enrolled on study if all other eligibility criteria are met.

Exclusion

Ongoing or history of non-infectious interstitial lung disease requiring significant medical intervention.
Sexually active patients of reproductive potential who have not agreed to use an effective contraceptive method for the duration of their study participation and for at least 3 months after treatment is completed.
Female patients who are pregnant are not eligible since fetal toxicities or teratogenic effects have been noted for several of the study drugs. Female participants \> 10 years of age or post-menarchal must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test within 24 hours prior to beginning treatment.
Lactating females who are or plan to breastfeed their infants are not eligible.
  • Maximum tolerated doses (MTDs)4 years

    MTD is defined in the study as the highest treatment dose that would deliver desirable treatment effects without resulting in a target toxicity rate greater than 0.3. For each of three groups (intermediate-risk, high-risk, and intermediate-and-high-risk-with-early-radiation), we will employ the Bayesian optimal interval (BOIN) design to find the MTD.

  • Event-free survival (EFS)2 years post, off therapy

    We will estimate the 2-year event-free survival for intermediate-risk and high-risk patients, which is the estimated probability of a patient not having any events within the 2-year follow-up. If an event, including local failure, distant failure, death or loss to follow-up occurs for a patient within 2-year, we call it failure, otherwise call it response.

  • Local recurrence rate (LRR)2 years

    LRR is defined as a binary endpoint in the study. The local recurrence-free survival (LRFS) is defined as time from randomization to the earlier date of the first of local disease recurrence or death due to any cause. The distant failure will be considered to be the competing risk, patients for whom follow-up ended without clinical improvement will be censored. The goal of the local recurrence rate endpoint is to evaluate the 2-year LRR by comparing the administration of 59.4 GyRBE and 68 GyRBE for patients (pooled intermediate- and high-risk groups) with tumor size greater than or equal to 5cm meeting the eligibility criteria for randomization (no biliary tree or specific extremity cases). .