A Study of Contralateral Limb Block for Phantom Limb Pain

This study is looking at whether an anesthetic called Lidocaine can help reduce limb pain, including phantom limb pain (pain felt in a missing body part), when injected near a nerve in the intact leg. Researchers want to see if this injection, compared to a placebo (a saline injection with no active medicine), can improve your pain and how well you can move. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older, have had a lower limb amputation over a year ago, and have experienced significant limb pain or phantom limb pain for more than six months, even after trying other treatments. The study aims to enroll 20 participants, but its current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This interventional study plans to enroll 20 participants to compare Lidocaine to a placebo (saline injection).
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain will be measured at baseline and 60 minutes after the injection. Your functional improvement will be measured at baseline and 5 days after the injection.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06045936

A Study of Contralateral Limb Block

Recruiting
PHASE4Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Mayo Clinic
~20 participants
Updated 2026-01-06 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:LidocainePlacebo

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in pain
Measured over Baseline, 60 minutes post injection
+1 more outcome measured
Limb Pain, Phantom

NCT06045936

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Mayo Clinic Health System - Mankato

    Mankato, Minnesotastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Cole Cheney, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Mayo Clinic

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Lower extremity amputation performed more than 12 months before study enrollment
PLP/RLP in affected amputated limb \> 4 on NRS26
Pain duration of more than 6 months despite a trial of conservative therapies for at least 2 months, including oral medications, topical medicines, physical therapy, and physical modalities (i.e., heat, cold, transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation, phonophoresis)
Willingness to undergo image guided diagnostic nerve block

Exclusion

Refusal / inability to participate or provide consent
Contraindications to diagnostic nerve block
Non-neurogenic source of PLP/RLP
Current opioid use \> 50 morphine milligram equivalents per day
Any interventional pain treatment in the residual limb within the last 30 days
Severe uncontrolled medical condition (i.e., hypertensive crisis, decompensated hypothyroidism)
Use of investigational pain drug within past 30 days or other concurrent clinical trial enrollment
  • Change in painBaseline, 60 minutes post injection

    Measured using self-reported Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) where 0=no pain and 10=worst pain.

  • Change in Functional ImprovementBaseline, 5 days post-injection

    Measured using self-reported 20-item Orthotic and Prosthetics User's Survey (OPUS) Lower Extremity Functional Status Measurement survey. Total scores range from 0-100 scale with higher scores indicating a better outcome.