TabCAT Brain Health Assessment for Mild Cognitive Impairment and Dementia

This study is testing the TabCAT Brain Health Assessment Clinical Pathway, a tablet-based test designed to help primary care doctors identify cognitive impairment (problems with thinking, memory, and judgment). The study aims to see if using this assessment in clinics helps doctors diagnose conditions like mild cognitive impairment and dementia more often. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older and have at least one visit at one of the participating Kaiser Southern California primary care clinics. The main goal is to measure how many patients receive a cognitive impairment diagnosis in their medical record within 12 months.

Study design
This is an interventional study involving 26 primary care clinics, with a planned enrollment of 180,000 patients. Clinics are randomly assigned to either use the TabCAT-BHA paradigm or continue with usual care.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
The effectiveness of the assessment will be measured during a 12-month steady state period after a 6-month startup period.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06090578

TabCAT Brain Health Assessment in Primary Care

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalHealth services
University of California, San Francisco
~180,000 participants
Updated 2025-10-31 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:TabCAT Brain Health Assessment Clinical Pathway

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
The rate of patients with at least one cognitive impairment diagnosis documented in the medical record by any primary care provider during the 12-month steady state period at the clinic.
Measured over During the 12-month steady state period
Mild Cognitive Impairment
Dementia

NCT06090578

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Kaiser Permanente Southern California Department of Research & Evaluation

    Pasadena, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Katherine Possin, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of California, San Francisco

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Patient with at least one encounter at an intervention clinic during the intervention period
Age 18+ (limited to 65+ for primary analyses)

Exclusion

Patients under the age of 18.
  • The rate of patients with at least one cognitive impairment diagnosis documented in the medical record by any primary care provider during the 12-month steady state period at the clinic.During the 12-month steady state period

    Rate is out of all patients with an encounter during the steady state period at the clinic. The primary analyses for all outcomes are limited to ages 65+.