Brain and Spinal Cord Stimulation with Hand Training After Spinal Cord Injury
This study, NCT06104735, is looking for people aged 18 to 85 with spinal cord injuries to find the best way to combine brain and spinal cord stimulation with hand training. The goal is to strengthen nerve connections in the spinal cord, a process called "Spinal Cord Associative Plasticity" (SCAP), to improve hand function. Researchers are testing different ways to deliver the stimulation, including varying the timing between brain and spinal cord pulses (Synaptic Pairing Interval), the frequency of stimulation (2 Hz continuous vs. intermittent theta burst), the number of stimulation sessions (1, 2, or 4 bouts of SCAP), and the rest time between sessions (6 vs. 12 minutes). All participants will also do task-oriented hand exercises. Success will be measured by how much the hand muscles respond to stimulation. The study plans to enroll 12 participants, but its current recruitment status is unclear.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 12 participants. The phase of the study is not specified.
- What's involved
- You would need to commit to 53 visits. You must also abstain from alcohol, smoking, and heavy caffeine on experiment days, and from recreational drugs for the entire study.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- The primary outcome, amplitude of motor evoked potential, will be measured through study completion, up to 10 months.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Finding the Best Combination of Brain and Spinal Cord Stimulation With Hand Training After Spinal Cord Injury
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
1 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Noam Y Harel, MD, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · JAMES J. PETERS VAMC
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Amplitude of motor evoked potential at the target muscle.Through study completion, up to 10 months
The primary neurophysiological outcome will be corticospinal excitability measured at the target muscle. The target muscle will be determined during the first evaluation session, with preference for first dorsal interosseous (FDI), abductor pollicis brevis (APB), or extensor carpi radialis (ECR) muscles based on muscle excitability and consistency. TMS recruitment curves will be collected. The amplitude of target muscle responses to TMS and spinal cord stimulation will be compared after the various interventions.