Repeat Breast Conserving Surgery Followed by Daily Partial Breast Irradiation for Breast Cancer
This study is looking at a new way to give radiation therapy after repeat breast conserving surgery for breast cancer that has returned. Currently, radiation is given twice a day for 30 treatments. This study will test if giving radiation once a day for 15 treatments (each lasting 30 minutes, 5 days a week for 3 weeks) works just as well. You may be able to join if you are at least 19 years old, have certain types of breast cancer that has returned, and your tumor is less than 3 cm. The study aims to see if this new radiation schedule causes fewer side effects. The current recruitment status is unclear, and the study plans to enroll 55 participants.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study, meaning participants will receive a specific treatment. It plans to enroll 55 participants, but the phase is not specified.
- What's involved
- Participants will receive radiation treatment to the breast once a day for 5 days a week, over 3 weeks. Each radiation session will last 30 minutes.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for treatment-related side effects for 1 year after completing the radiation treatment.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Repeat Breast Conserving Surgery Followed by Daily Partial Breast Irradiation in Ipsilateral Breast
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
2 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Janice Lyons, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
- Rahul Tendulkar, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer institute, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Treatment-related adverse events as graded by CTCAE criteria1 year from the completion of re-irradiation
Rate of grade 3+ treatment-related skin, fibrosis, and breast pain adverse events occurring within 1 year from the completion of re-irradiation as graded by CTCAE criteria.