Non-Invasive Pulsed Radiofrequency for Neuropathic Pain

This study is investigating a non-invasive pulsed radiofrequency (NIPRF) device called Stimpod for treating chronic neuropathic pain. This type of pain often happens after a peripheral nerve injury, like from an accident or surgery. Researchers want to see if NIPRF can be an effective treatment option. You might be able to join if you are an adult aged 18 or older and have chronic neuropathic pain caused by a peripheral nerve injury. The study aims to find out the percentage of people who respond well to the treatment after three weeks. The current status of this study is unclear, and it plans to enroll 95 participants.

Study design
This study is an interventional study comparing an active NIPRF device to a non-active (placebo) device. It plans to enroll 95 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be assessed for treatment response after three weeks of starting treatment.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06185816

Non-Invasive Pulsed Radiofrequency for the Treatment of Neuropathic Pain

Recruiting
PHASE2Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Stanford University
~95 participants
Updated 2026-04-24 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Active TreatmentNon-active Treatment

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Treatment Response Rate
Measured over After Three Weeks of Starting Treatment
Pain, Nerve
1 sites across 1 states
California1
Emma Raney
Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

-Adults aged 18 or older with clinically diagnosed chronic neuropathic pain after peripheral injury defined as persistent or recurrent neuropathic pain caused by a peripheral nerve lesion, history of a plausible nerve trauma, pain onset in temporal relation to the trauma, and pain distribution within the innervation territory of a peripheral nerve (or nerves). Negative and positive sensory symptoms or signs must be compatible with the innervation territory of the affected nerve. Can be posttraumatic, post-surgical, nerve compression, nerve ischemia with or without loss of motor function
Positive response (at least 50% pain relief) to diagnostic nerve block at the suspected site of CNP-PI.
Continued pain despite conservative therapy for a minimum of 12 weeks
Stable dosage of analgesic medications for at least 30 days, and willingness to refrain from trialing new analgesic medications for three weeks after randomization
Worst pain intensity of ≥5/10 on the Numeric Rating Scale (NRS) of Pain (0-10) at the CNP-PI site at enrollment
English-speaking
Ability and willingness to complete online and phone assessments

Exclusion

Conditions causing inability to complete assessments (education, cognitive ability, mental status, medical status)
Cancer diagnosis, active malignant neoplasm (metastatic or local) or evidence of paraneoplastic syndrome
Painful polyneuropathy (e.g., metabolic, autoimmune, familial, infectious disease, environmental toxins, treatment with neurotoxic drug)
Chronic central neuropathic pain (e.g., spinal cord injury, brain injury, multiple sclerosis)
Peripheral vascular disease
Diabetic neuropathy
Other active implantable devices (e.g., implantable cardioverter defibrillator, spinal cord stimulator, dorsal root ganglion stimulator, sacral nerve stimulator, deep brain stimulator, intrathecal pump)
Pregnancy, breastfeeding, or planning to conceive
Systemic infection or local infection at the anticipated NIPRF treatment sites
Interventional procedure and/or surgery to treat CNP-PI in the last 30 days (subjects should be enrolled 30 days after last procedure, for prior ablative treatment must be enrolled at least 3 months after last procedure)
Epilepsy
Metal implants within the target treatment area of the NIPRF.
  • Treatment Response RateAfter Three Weeks of Starting Treatment