Trauma BPE Prolonged Exposure Therapy for Injured Individuals Admitted to a Level I Trauma Center

{ "Brief Prolonged Exposure Therapy for Trauma Patients", "This study is testing if a brief treatment called Brief Prolonged Exposure Therapy (Brief PE) can help prevent or reduce post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other issues after a traumatic injury. Brief PE involves three 60-minute therapy sessions. Researchers will compare Brief PE to standard care (Treatment as Usual) that patients usually receive. The study aims to see if Brief PE can lower symptoms of PTSD, depression, anxiety, pain, and improve quality of life. You might be able to join if you are 18-75 years old and admitted to a Level 1 Trauma Center at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center at Temple, or Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin. The study will measure PTSD symptoms using specific questionnaires at baseline, 1 month, 3 months, and 6 months to see if the treatment is successful. The current status of this study is unclear, and it plans to enroll 300 people.", "design": "This is a randomized controlled trial, meaning participants will be randomly assigned to receive either Brief Prolonged Exposure Therapy or standard care. The study plans to enroll 300 participants.", "commitments": "If you participate, you would receive either three 60-minute therapy sessions (Brief PE) or standard clinical treatment. You would also complete questionnaires at baseline, 1 month, 3 months, and 6 months.", "compensation": "Not stated in the trial record.", "follow_up": "Participants will be followed for 6 months after starting the study, with assessments at 1 month, 3 months, and 6 months.", }

Study design
Not specified.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Not specified.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06210711

Trauma BPE Prolonged Exposure Therapy for Injured Individuals Admitted to a Level I Trauma Center

Recruiting
NAAges 18–75InterventionalTreatment
Baylor Research Institute
~300 participants
Updated 2026-02-11 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Treatment as UsualBrief Prolonged Exposure Therapy

At a glance

Recruiting sites
3 of 3 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Clinician Administered PTSD Scale for DSM-5 (CAPS-5)
Measured over Baseline, 1-month, 3-month, 6-months
+1 more outcome measured
Traumatic Injury
PTSD
Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
3 sites across 2 states
Texas2
Wisconsin1
  • Ann Marie Warren, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Baylor Scott & White Research Institute

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Between the ages of 18 and 75 years old.
Admitted to Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas (BUMC), Baylor Scott \& White Medical Center at Temple (BSWMC), or Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin (FH/MCW) Level 1 Trauma Center

Exclusion

Patients in police custody
Patients not fluent in English
Patients with severe cognitive impairment
Patients who are acutely suicidal
Patients with active psychosis
  • Clinician Administered PTSD Scale for DSM-5 (CAPS-5)Baseline, 1-month, 3-month, 6-months

    The CAPS-5 is a 30-item, structured interview that assesses PTSD symptoms and makes a diagnostic determination based on the DSM-5 criteria and is considered the gold standard of PTSD assessment. Questions assess for PTSD symptoms corresponding to the 4 DSM-5 clusters of re-experiencing, avoidance, changes in mood and cognition, and arousal and hyperactivity, and includes questions on duration, impact of symptoms, distress and impact of symptoms on social and occupational functioning. The interviewer rates participant responses to symptom questions on a 5-point scale of frequency and severity, from 0 ("Absent") to 4 ("Extreme/incapacitating").

  • PTSD Checklist for DSM-5 (PCL-5)Baseline, 1-month, 3-month, 6-months

    The PCL-5 is a 20-item, self-report measure that assesses history of traumas and PTSD symptom severity over the last month according to the DSM-5 criteria.