Comparing Pain Control Methods in Gynecologic Oncology Surgery
This study is comparing two ways to manage pain after gynecologic oncology surgery: a transversus abdominis plane (TAP) block and local anesthetic wound infiltration. The TAP block involves injecting 133 mg of liposomal bupivacaine and 15 mL of 0.25% bupivacaine on each side of your abdomen. The wound infiltration uses 266 mg of liposomal bupivacaine and 30 mL of 0.25% bupivacaine diluted in saline, injected into the surgical area. Researchers want to see which method leads to less opioid pain medication use in the first 24 hours after surgery. You may be eligible if you are an English-speaking woman over 18, undergoing exploratory laparotomy (abdominal surgery) for gynecologic reasons at UW Hospital and Clinics, and can provide consent. The study aims to enroll 80 participants. The current recruitment status is unclear.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study comparing two different pain control methods. It plans to enroll 80 participants.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Opioid use is measured for the first 24 hours post-surgery.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Transversus Abdominis Plane Block Compared to Local Anesthetic Wound Infiltration in Gynecologic Oncology Surgery
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
1 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Sumer Wallace, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · UW Carbone Cancer Center
Who to contact
This trial hasn't published a contact. View it on ClinicalTrials.gov
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Total opioid use measured in oral morphine equivalents for the first 24 hours post-surgery24 hours post-surgery
Total opioid use measured in oral morphine equivalents for the first 24 hours post-surgery (including intraoperative and Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) opioid utilization).