Adult Spinal Deformity Surgery and Functional Reach Study

This observational study is looking at how spinal fusion surgery for adult spinal deformity (a condition where your spine has an abnormal curve) affects your ability to balance and reach. Researchers want to see if a new balance test, called a functional reach test, can better measure how well you can balance during everyday activities. They will compare balance measurements in adults with spinal deformity before and after spinal fusion surgery, and also compare them to healthy adults. The study aims to enroll 30 participants and is currently unclear about its recruitment status. Success will be measured by changes in your functional reach distance, and how much you sway and how fast you sway when standing, both before and after surgery.

Study design
This is an observational study that will include 30 participants. It will compare adults with spinal deformity undergoing spinal fusion to a control group without intervention.
What's involved
If you have adult spinal deformity and are having spinal fusion surgery, you will have balance assessments before surgery and at 3, 6, 12, and 24 months after surgery.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for 24 months after their spinal fusion surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06258161

Effect of Adult Spinal Deformity Surgery on Functional Reach

Recruiting
Not specifiedAges 18+Observational
University of Kansas Medical Center
~30 participants
Updated 2026-05-06 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Spinal FusionNo intervention

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Functional reach distance
Measured over Assessed preoperatively and at 3, 6, 12, and 24 month postoperative follow-ups
+3 more outcomes measured
Scoliosis
Scoliosis Kyphosis

NCT06258161

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of Kansas Medical Center

    Kansas City, Kansasno site contact published

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Damon Mar · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Kansas Medical Center

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Adults over the age of 18
Diagnosed with adult spinal deformity according to the SRS-Schwab Adult Spinal Deformity Classification System
Indicated for deformity corrective surgery including multilevel spinal fusion of three or more levels
Lowest instrumented level includes S1 or pelvic fixation
Able to perform functional activities without the use of any assistance or support
devices
Adults over the age of 18
No current or prior spine pathology or surgery
Able to perform the functional activities without the use of any assistance or support devices

Exclusion

Indicated for spinal fusion due to spinal tumor, trauma, or infection
ASD patients who do not plan to be available for all follow-up evaluations at our institution
Pregnancy during any time point within the participation duration
Any current or prior spine or lower extremity pathology or surgery that impacts the subject's ability to perform the functional activities
Pregnancy at the time of the evaluation
  • Functional reach distanceAssessed preoperatively and at 3, 6, 12, and 24 month postoperative follow-ups

    The distance a participant can reach forward (in cm), to the side, and 45 degrees to the side with each arm

  • Center of pressure sway rangeAssessed preoperatively and at 3, 6, 12, and 24 month postoperative follow-ups

    The range (in mm) that the participant's center of pressure moves in sagittal and coronal plane directions during the functional reach tests

  • Center of pressure velocityAssessed preoperatively and at 3, 6, 12, and 24 month postoperative follow-ups

    The maximum and average velocity (in m/s) that the participant's center of pressure reaches during the functional reach tests

  • Center of pressure excursionAssessed preoperatively and at 3, 6, 12, and 24 month postoperative follow-ups

    The summation of the distance (in mm) that the participant's center of pressure moves during the functional reach tests