MyoMo for Upper Extremity Function in Spinal Cord Injury
This study is looking at how well an assistive device called MyoMo (also known as MyoPro) helps people with spinal cord injury (SCI) improve their arm and hand function. It compares using the MyoMo device to conventional therapy. The goal is to see if MyoMo can improve daily activities and quality of life for individuals with incomplete spinal cord injury affecting their arms and hands. You might be able to join if you are between 18 and 80 years old, have a C1-C8 spinal cord injury (ASIA Impairment Scale C or D), and can activate certain arm muscles on your own. The study will measure improvements in hand and arm range of motion, muscle strength, and overall function (GRASSP score) after about 36 weeks. The study status is currently unclear, and it plans to enroll 60 participants.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study planning to enroll 60 participants. It compares the MyoMo device to conventional therapy.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for approximately 36 weeks to measure outcomes.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
The Utilization Effects of Powered Wearable Orthotics in Improving Upper Extremity Function and ADL in Persons With SCI
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
1 sites across 1 statesWho to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- GRASSPApproximately 36 weeks
Assessment of the Hand in Tetraplegia Using the Graded Redefined Assessment of Strength Sensibility and Prehension Upper Extremity (UE) Function in Persons with Tetraplegia Relationships Between Strength, Capacity and the Spinal Cord Independence Measure. Total score's minimum and maximum values are between 0 to 116 and higher scores indicate better/improved outcomes.
- Range of motion of hands and armsApproximately 36 weeks
Movement of upper extremity is measured using small sensors that are able to record joints' angles. These sensors are placed on participant's skin via double sticky tape. Participants will be asked to move their hand and forearm while the elbow, wrist and hand joint angles are measured.
- Muscle strength measurementApproximately 36 weeks
during movements of upper extremities muscle strength is measured using small and light weight surface electromyography sensors which are placed on the participant's skin via double stick tape. Participants will be asked to move their hand and forearm while the muscle strength is measured.