Safety and Effectiveness of Mechanical Thrombectomy Using the Anaconda ANA Funnel Catheter for Acute Ischemic Stroke

This study is testing a new device called the ANA Funnel Catheter for treating acute ischemic stroke (a type of stroke caused by a blood clot) in a procedure called mechanical thrombectomy. This procedure uses a stent retriever to remove blood clots. The ANA Funnel Catheter helps guide the stent retriever and can temporarily stop blood flow during the procedure, which may improve clot removal. Researchers want to see if the ANA Funnel Catheter is safe and effective compared to standard methods. They will measure how many patients achieve "near-complete" reperfusion (blood flow restored) after one attempt and the rate of serious bleeding in the brain. You may be eligible if you are between 22 and 85 years old and have experienced a recent stroke due to a large blood clot. The study's current status is unclear, and it aims to enroll 327 participants.

Study design
This is a randomized study comparing the ANA Funnel Catheter to conventional mechanical thrombectomy. It plans to enroll 327 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Safety will be assessed within 24 hours of the procedure.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06370182

Safety and Effectiveness of Mechanical Thrombectomy Using the Anaconda ANA Funnel Catheter

Recruiting
NAAges 22–85InterventionalTreatment
Anaconda Biomed S.L.
~327 participants
Updated 2025-12-11 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:ANA Funnel CatheterControl

At a glance

Recruiting sites
22 of 22 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Proportion of subjects with "near-complete" reperfusion after one thrombectomy pass (FPE, eTICI 2c-3, extended Thrombolysis in Cerebral Infarction scale) in the target vessel.
Measured over intra-operative
+1 more outcome measured
Acute Ischemic Stroke From Large Vessel Occlusion

NCT06370182

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 22 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Advocate Health

    Park Ridge, Illinoisstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Aydin University Hospital

    Istanbul, Turkey (Türkiye)study coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Baptist Health Medical Center

    Jacksonville, Floridastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Boston Medical Center

    Boston, Massachusettsstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Montpellier

    Montpellier, Francestudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Toulouse

    Toulouse, Francestudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Fondation Rothschild

    Paris, Francestudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

  • Grady Memorial Hospital, Emory

    Atlanta, Georgiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Adnan Siddiqui, MD, PhD, FAHA · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Jacobs School of Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
  • Santiago Ortega-Gutierrez, MD, MSc, FAHA, FSVIN · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Iowa

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Perfusion weighted criterion: volume of diffusion restriction visually assessed
CT criterion: Alberta Stroke program early CT score (ASPECTS) 6 to 10 on baseline CT/DWI-MRI. (Inclusion of subjects with ASPECTS 5 is permitted at centers performing scoring on MRI) 10. The subject is indicated for a neurovascular thrombectomy procedure with an approved stent retriever per its Instructions for Use.
  • Proportion of subjects with "near-complete" reperfusion after one thrombectomy pass (FPE, eTICI 2c-3, extended Thrombolysis in Cerebral Infarction scale) in the target vessel.intra-operative

    Reperfusion (eTICI 2c-3) to be assessed by an independent Core Lab.

  • Rate of symptomatic intracranial hemorrhage (sICH), attributable to the device or procedure.Within 24 hours of the procedure

    Extent of hemorrhage to be assessed by an independent Core Lab, symptoms to be assessed by the Data Monitoring Committee (DMC).