Sacituzumab Tirumotecan and Pembrolizumab for Triple-Negative Breast Cancer

This study is testing a new combination of medicines, sacituzumab tirumotecan and pembrolizumab, for people with triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC). You may be able to join if you've already had initial treatment (neoadjuvant therapy) and surgery, but your cancer didn't completely disappear (you didn't achieve a pathological complete response, or pCR). Researchers want to see if this new combination is better at preventing the cancer from coming back compared to standard treatments chosen by your doctor. The study aims to enroll about 1530 participants and will measure how long people live without their cancer returning (invasive disease-free survival) for up to 77 months. The current status of the study is unclear.

Study design
This is a randomized, open-label study comparing the new combination to standard treatments. It plans to include about 1530 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed to measure invasive disease-free survival for up to approximately 77 months.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06393374

Sacituzumab Tirumotecan (MK-2870) Plus Pembrolizumab Versus TPC in TNBC Who Did Not Achieve pCR (MK-2870-012)

Recruiting
PHASE3Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
~1,530 participants
Updated 2026-08-28 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:PembrolizumabSacituzumab tirumotecanCapecitabine

At a glance

Recruiting sites
297 of 309 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Invasive Disease-Free Survival (iDFS)
Measured over Up to ~77 months
Triple-Negative Breast Cancer
309 sites across 170 states
California12
Texas12
Japan8
Tennessee7
Quebec6
Israel6
Tokyo6
Virginia5
  • Medical Director · STUDY_DIRECTOR · Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Has centrally confirmed TNBC, as defined by the most recent American Society of Clinical Oncology/College of American Pathologists (ASCO/CAP) guidelines
Has no evidence of locoregional or distant relapse, as assessed by the treating physician
Had neoadjuvant treatment based on the KEYNOTE-522 regimen (pembrolizumab with carboplatin/taxanes and pembrolizumab with anthracycline-based chemotherapy) followed by surgery according to National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) treatment guidelines for TNBC
Had adequate excision and surgical removal of all clinically evident disease in the breast and/or lymph nodes and have adequately recovered from surgery
Has non-pathologic complete response at surgery
Is able to continue on adjuvant pembrolizumab
Randomization must be conducted within 16 weeks from surgical resection
Completed adjuvant radiation therapy (if indicated) and recovered before randomization
Has provided tissue from the surgical resection for central laboratory determination of trophoblast cell surface antigen 2 (TROP2) status
If capable of producing sperm, the participant agrees to the following during the intervention period and for at least the time needed to eliminate each study intervention after the last dose of study intervention (120 days for sacituzumab tirumotecan and 95 days for capecitabine \[no restriction for pembrolizumab\]): agrees to refrain from donating sperm AND is either abstinent and agrees to remain abstinent or uses highly effective contraception
For females (assigned at birth), is not pregnant or breastfeeding and ≥1 of the following applies: is not a participant of childbearing potential (POCBP) OR is a POCBP and uses highly effective contraception after the last dose of study intervention (210 days for sacituzumab tirumotecan, 120 days for pembrolizumab, and 185 days for capecitabine). Abstains from breastfeeding during the study intervention period and for at least 120 days after study intervention
Participants who have AEs due to previous anticancer therapies must have recovered to ≤Grade 1 or baseline (except alopecia)
Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-infected participants must have well controlled HIV on antiretroviral therapy (ART)
An Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 to 1 assessed within 7 days before first dose of study treatment
Participants who are hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) positive are eligible if they have received hepatitis B birus (HBV) antiviral therapy for at least 4 weeks, and have undetectable HBV viral load prior to randomization

Exclusion

Has a known germline breast cancer gene (BRCA) mutation (deleterious or suspected deleterious) and is eligible for adjuvant therapy with olaparib where olaparib is approved and available
Has Grade \>2 peripheral neuropathy
History of documented severe dry eye syndrome, severe Meibomian gland disease and/or blepharitis, or severe corneal disease that prevents/delays corneal healing
Has active inflammatory bowel disease requiring immunosuppressive medication or previous history of inflammatory bowel disease (eg, Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, or chronic diarrhea)
Has uncontrolled, significant cardiovascular disease or cerebrovascular disease including New York Heart Association Class III or IV congestive heart failure, unstable angina, myocardial infarction, uncontrolled symptomatic arrhythmia, prolongation of QTcF interval to \>480 ms, and/or other serious cardiovascular and cerebrovascular diseases within 6 months prior to study intervention
Received prior treatment with a trophoblast cell-surface antigen 2 (TROP2)-directed antibody drug conjugate (ADC) or a topoisomerase I inhibitor-containing ADC
Received anticancer therapy in the adjuvant phase including but not limited to chemotherapy, small molecule anticancer drugs, poly (adenosine diphosphate ribose) polymerase (PARP) inhibitors, ADCs, and/or immunotherapy, with the exception of adjuvant radiation therapy
Is currently receiving a strong inducer/inhibitor of cytochrome P450 3A4 (CYP3A4) that cannot be discontinued for the duration of the study. The required washout period before starting sacituzumab tirumotecan is 2 weeks
Except for pembrolizumab as neoadjuvant therapy for early-stage TNBC: received prior therapy with an anti-programmed cell death 1 protein (anti-PD-1), anti-programmed cell death ligand 1 (anti-PD-L1), or anti-PD-L2 agent, or with an agent directed to another stimulatory or coinhibitory T-cell receptor (eg, cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated protein-4 \[CTLA-4\], OX-40 \[cluster of differentiation (CD) 134\], or CD137)
Except for chemotherapy as neoadjuvant therapy for early-stage TNBC: Received prior systemic anticancer therapy including investigational agents within 4 weeks before randomization
Received prior radiotherapy within 3 weeks of start of study intervention or required corticosteroids for radiation related toxicities that cannot be discontinued before the first dose of study intervention
Received a live or live-attenuated vaccine within 30 days before the first dose of study intervention. Administration of killed vaccines are allowed
Has received an investigational agent or has used an investigational device within 4 weeks prior to study intervention administration
Has known additional malignancy that is progressing or has required active treatment within the past 5 years
Has diagnosis of immunodeficiency or is receiving chronic systemic steroid therapy (in dosing exceeding 10 mg daily of prednisone equivalent) or any other form of immunosuppressive therapy within 7 days prior the first dose of study medication
Has active autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment in the past 2 years. Replacement therapy (eg, thyroxine, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid) is allowed
Has history of (noninfectious) pneumonitis/interstitial lung disease that required steroids or has current pneumonitis/interstitial lung disease
Has active infection requiring systemic therapy
HIV-infected participants with a history of Kaposi's sarcoma and/or Multicentric Castleman's Disease
Has concurrent active hepatitis B and hepatitis C virus infection
Has history of allogeneic tissue/solid organ transplant
  • Invasive Disease-Free Survival (iDFS)Up to ~77 months

    iDFS is the time from randomization to invasive local, regional, or distant recurrence, invasive contralateral breast cancer, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.