INTACT Program for Alzheimer's Care Training

This study, called the Indian Transforming Alzheimer's Care Training (INTACT) program, is testing a new way to improve care for American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) patients with Alzheimer's disease and related dementias (ADRD) or mild cognitive impairment (MCI). The program trains primary care providers (PCPs) in screening, diagnosis, and care for these conditions, and offers quarterly webinars on topics like driving and communication. The study aims to see if this training helps clinics diagnose more cases of ADRD and MCI, increases PCPs' confidence in providing care, and improves the quality of care for patients. This study is looking to enroll 28 clinics that serve AI/AN patients. The current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This study is a group-randomized trial involving 28 clinics. Clinics will be randomly assigned to either receive the INTACT program immediately or be placed on a wait-list.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Data will be collected at the beginning of the study and again after 12 months.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06397339

Indian Transforming Alzheimer's Care Training (INTACT)

UNKNOWN
NAAges 18+InterventionalHealth services
Washington State University
~28 participants
Updated 2024-08-19 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:INTACT Program

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Clinic Level - new diagnoses of ADRD and MCI (Aim 2)
Measured over Baseline and 12-month follow-up
+7 more outcomes measured
Alzheimer Disease
1 sites across 1 states
Washington1

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Clinic Level - new diagnoses of ADRD and MCI (Aim 2)Baseline and 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the aggregate counts of new diagnoses (MCI, ADRD, other dementia) during the study period, based on the ICD-10 codes for these diagnoses.

  • PCP level - care confidence (Aim 1)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Within each clinic, each participating PCP will complete a baseline and a 12-month follow-up survey. The PCP level primary outcome is care confidence in providing dementia care to patients and their families. Care confience wil be measured using the General Practitioners Confidence and Attitude scale for Dementia (GPACS-D) whic uses a 5 point Likert scale from 1 (strongly agree) to 5 (strongly disagree). The GPACS-D scale has 3 subscales: 1. Confidence in Clinical Abilities for which a lower score means a better outcome 2. Attitude to Care for which a lower score means a better outcome 3. Engagement for which a higher score means a better outcome

  • Patient level - quality of care 1 (Aim 3)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the number and type of ADRD diagnostic tests.

  • Patient level - quality of care 2 (Aim 3)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the number of prescriptions of appropriate medications for cognitive and mood symptoms.

  • Patient level - quality of care 3 (Aim 3)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the number of annual cognitive assessments.

  • Patient level - quality of care 4 (Aim 3)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the number advance care directive.

  • Patient level - quality of care 5 (Aim 3)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the number of annual evauations of functional status.

  • Patient level - quality of care 5 (Aim 3)Baseline and a 12-month follow-up

    Primary outcome (as obtained directly from EHRs) will reflect the number of pharmacoligical treatment changes.