ACTION Trial: Buprenorphine, CBT, and TMS for Chronic Pain on Opioid Therapy

This study, called ACTION, is looking at ways to improve care for people with chronic pain who are taking long-term opioid medications. It will test three approaches: a low dose of buprenorphine (a medication patch) to help manage pain without causing opioid withdrawal, a type of talk therapy called Cognitive Behavioral Intervention (CBI) for pain, and Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS), which uses magnetic pulses to stimulate the brain. Researchers want to see if these interventions can reduce pain, lower risks associated with opioid use, and improve quality of life. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older, speak English, have been on daily prescription opioids for at least 90 days, and meet other criteria. The study will measure how well buprenorphine is tolerated and how much pain is reduced.

Study design
This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 240 participants. It uses a double-blinded design, meaning neither you nor your doctor will know if you are receiving the active treatment or a placebo/sham.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for outcomes at 4, 12, 24, and 52 weeks after treatment.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06442566

ACTION: Trial of Adding Buprenorphine, CBT, and TMS to Improve Outcomes of Long-Term Opioid Therapy for Chronic Pain

Recruiting
PHASE1Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
Medical University of South Carolina
~240 participants
Updated 2025-11-05 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Buprenorphine PatchPlaceboTranscranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)Sham Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Buprenorphine Tolerability
Measured over up to Day-13
+1 more outcome measured
Opioid Withdrawal
Chronic Pain
1 sites across 1 states
South Carolina1
  • Kelly Barth · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Medical University of South Carolina

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Buprenorphine Tolerabilityup to Day-13

    Tolerability of open-label transdermal buprenorphine. Buprenorphine tolerability defined as the proportion of patients who do not discontinue buprenorphine due to adverse effects or intolerance.

  • Pain Severity -with Buprenorphine Patchup to Day-20

    Pain severity is measured by the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI) Severity Scale and is typically scored as the mean of the four severity items ("average," "worst," "usual," "now," range 0-10) with a higher score being worse.