RAPS Trial: Early-Stage ER+ Breast Cancer Study
This study, called the RAPS Trial, is for women with early-stage ER+ (estrogen receptor positive) breast cancer that is 3 cm (centimeters) or less and has not been treated with surgery, hormone therapy, or chemotherapy. It is testing a new approach to treatment that involves a single dose of radiation before surgery. Researchers are also exploring if a special ultrasound using microbubble CEUS (Contrast Enhanced Ultrasound) can be used instead of a sentinel lymph node biopsy (a surgical procedure to check if cancer has spread to lymph nodes). The study will also look at how well the radiation treatment works on the tumor. Success will be measured by how well this single dose of radiation works over 4 years. The current recruitment status is unclear.
- Study design
- This interventional study plans to enroll 53 women. It is a Phase II trial.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for 4 years to measure the effectiveness of the pre-operative radiation.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Precision Medicine in Action: Phase II Trial of Response Adaptive Ablative Pre-operative SPBI (RAPS) and Non-operative Sentinel Lymph Node Biopsy in Patients With Early-stage ER+ Breast Cancer: RAPS Trial
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
1 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Asal Rahimi, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Single fraction pre-operative radiation4 years
To determine efficacy of single fraction 30 Gy pre-operative radiation in early-stage ER+ breast cancer patients and determine pathologic complete response rate at 10-15 months after radiation. Patients that have not had a complete imaging response on MRI, OA, or on needle biopsy at 9 months will move onto a second fraction of PULSAR radiation of 8 Gy at 9-10 months. Surgery will be at 10-12 months for those with complete imaging response and negative needle biopsy. For those with residual disease surgery will be postponed to 12-15 months.