Neuroplasticity Biomarkers in Aphasia

This study is looking at how the brain recovers after a stroke, specifically focusing on aphasia (a language disorder). Researchers want to understand why some people recover better than others by studying genetic factors and brain network changes. You might be eligible if you are between 40 and 90 years old, were right-handed before your stroke, speak English fluently, had a single ischemic stroke affecting the middle cerebral artery, and have aphasia. The study is using a "Pseudoword learning paradigm task" to understand how the brain learns new words. The main goals are to measure aphasia severity at 3 months, 6 months, and 1 year post-stroke, and to assess semantic (meaning of words) and phonological (sound of words) processing at least 1 year after stroke. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll 90 participants.

Study design
This is an interventional study planning to enroll 90 participants. The phase of the study is not specified.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed to measure aphasia presence/severity at 3 months, 6 months, and 1 year post-stroke, and semantic and phonological processing at least 1 year post-stroke.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06471127

Neuroplasticity Biomarkers in Aphasia

Recruiting
NAAges 40–90Interventional
University of Wisconsin, Madison
~90 participants
Updated 2026-07-07 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Pseudoword learning paradigm task

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Aphasia presence/severity
Measured over 3 months, 6 months, 1 year post-stroke
+6 more outcomes measured
Aphasia
Language
Stroke

NCT06471127

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • UW School of Medicine and Public Health

    Madison, Wisconsinno site contact published

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Haley Dresang, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Wisconsin, Madison

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Aphasia presence/severity3 months, 6 months, 1 year post-stroke

    The primary outcome measure for Aim 1 will be overall aphasia severity. Severity across language domains will be measured by Western Aphasia Battery-Revised Aphasia Quotient (AQ). AQ scores range from 0-100 and rate severity as follows: 0-25 is very severe, 26-50 is severe, 51-75 is moderate, and 76+ is mild.

  • Semantic processingAt least 1 year post-stroke

    A primary outcome measure for Aim 2 will be semantic versus phonological processing ability. Semantic processing will be measured by the three pictures version of the Pyramids and Palm Trees Test (PPT) and Psycholinguistic Assessments of Language Processing in Aphasia (PALPA) 51: Word Semantic Association, and semantic weights will be calculated from Philadelphia Naming Test (PNT). PPT ranges from 0-52, with higher scores indicating a better ability to retrieve item names from semantic memory. PALPA 51 ranges from 0 to 40, with each correct semantic association earning one point. PNT semantic weights refer to the measure of the semantic relatedness of the words used in the test.

  • Phonological processingAt least 1 year post-stroke

    A primary outcome measure for Aim 2 will be semantic versus phonological processing ability. Phonological processing will be measured by PALPA 1: Same-Different Discrimination Using Nonword Minimal Pairs as a measure of input phonology and phonological weights will be calculated from Philadelphia Naming Test (PNT). PALPA 1 range is 0 to 40, with higher scores indicating greater accuracy. PNT phonological weights refer to the measure of the phonologic relatedness of the words used in the test.

  • Noun processingAt least 1 year post-stroke

    A primary outcome measure for Aim 2 will be noun versus verb processing ability. Noun processing will be measured by Object and Action Naming Battery (OANB) to assess production and Psycholinguistic Assessments of Language Processing in Aphasia (PALPA) 47 to assess comprehension. PALPA 47 range is from 0 to 40, with higher scores indicating greater accuracy. OANB object naming range is 0 to 162, with higher scores indicating greater accuracy.

  • Verb processingAt least 1 year post-stroke

    A primary outcome measure for Aim 2 will be noun versus verb processing ability. Verb processing will be measured by Object and Action Naming to assess production and Northwestern Assessment of Verbs and Sentences (NAVS) Verb Comprehension Test. NAVS Verb Comprehension range is 0-22, with higher scores indicating greater accuracy. OANB action naming range is 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating greater accuracy.

  • Pseudoword learningAt least 1 year post-stroke

    A primary outcome measure for Aim 3 will be pseudoword learning, with scores for immediate recognition and delayed recognition ability. This experimental paradigm has been implemented in patients with aphasia by Penaloza and colleagues from the Ancient Farming Equipment Paradigm. This assessment is measured in proportion of correction responses, range 0-100%, with higher scores indicating greater accuracy.

  • Verbal learningAt least 1 year post-stroke

    A primary outcome measure for Aim 3 will be verbal learning, which will be measured by the standardized assessment of Hopkins Verbal Learning Test. Immediate recall is range 0-36 and delayed recall is range 0-12. Higher scores indicate more words recalled. Recognition is range 0-12, with higher scores indicating better ability to correctly identify previously learned information among distractors.