PORTAL-PTSD for Timely PTSD Diagnosis and Management
This study is testing a new approach called PORTAL-PTSD to help diagnose and manage Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) more quickly in primary care settings. It aims to improve how people are screened for PTSD, especially in areas with high rates of trauma like the South Side of Chicago. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older, have had a primary care visit in the last two years, and haven't been screened for PTSD in the past year. The study will measure how often people are screened for PTSD, how many are diagnosed, and how many receive treatment over two years. The current status of the study is unclear, and it plans to include about 17,000 participants.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study, meaning it tests a specific approach (PORTAL-PTSD). It plans to include about 17,000 participants.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for two years, with assessments every six months after the intervention.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Patient Outcome Reporting for Timely Assessments of Life With Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
2 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Neda Laiteerapong, MD, MS · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Chicago
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- PTSD screening ratesevery 6 months post-intervention for 2 years
Number and proportion of patients who were screened for PTSD, as determined by the validated Primary Care Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder screener (PC-PTSD-5).
- PTSD diagnoses ratesevery 6 months post-intervention for 2 years
Number and proportion of patients who screen positive for PTSD, as determined by the validated Primary Care Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder screener (PC-PTSD-5).
- PTSD prescribed treatment ratesevery 6 months post-intervention for 2 years
Treatment rate is measured as proportion of patients with PTSD and prescribed treatment out of total patients diagnosed with PTSD. Receipt of treatment is defined by completion of PCBH services or at least 3-months of therapy for PTSD for patients who choose to not receive PCBH services.
- PTSD symptoms severityevery 6 months post-intervention for 2 years
Patient-reported improvement in PTSD symptoms severity as measured by the 20-item Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder Checklist (PCL).