Assessment of Neural Signals for the Control of Assistive Devices for Spinal Cord Injury

This study is looking at how brain signals can be used to control assistive devices for people with spinal cord injury (SCI). Researchers will use Epidural Spinal Cord Stimulation (ESCS), a surgical procedure where electrodes are placed near the spinal cord, and record brain activity using Electrocorticographic (ECoG) or Electroencephalographic (EEG) devices. The goal is to understand how brain signals related to movement can trigger ESCS to improve arm and hand function. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older, have chronic SCI (C4-T1 neurological injury with some remaining function), and are not in other studies. The study aims to see if there's a change in hand motor function and hand motor evoked potential (a measure of nerve activity) up to two months after the ESCS implant. The current recruitment status is unclear, and the study plans to enroll 3 participants.

Study design
This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 3 participants. It is not specified if it is randomized, blinded, or its phase.
What's involved
You would undergo a one-time surgery for Epidural Spinal Cord Stimulation (ESCS) lasting no more than 2 hours. Neural activity will be recorded during upper and/or lower extremity tasks.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Changes in hand motor function and motor evoked potential will be measured up to 2 months post-implant.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06533969

Assessment of Neural Signals for the Control of Assistive Devices

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalBasic science
University of Miami
~3 participants
Updated 2026-08-26 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Epidural Spinal Cord StimulationElectrocorticographicElectroencephalographic

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 2 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Change in Hand Motor Function
Measured over Baseline, up to 2 months post-implant
+1 more outcome measured
Spinal Cord Injury (SCI), Initial Encounter
2 sites across 1 states
Florida2
  • Jonathan R Jagid, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Miami

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Patients age 18 and older
Able to sign informed consent
Not participating in other studies that limit participation
Chronic (\>6 month) traumatic Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) (C4-T1 neurological injury with American Spinal Injury Association Impairment Scale (AIS A-D) with some residual function.

Exclusion

Patients that are pregnant
Patients under the age of 18
Patients unable to provide informed consent
  • Change in Hand Motor FunctionBaseline, up to 2 months post-implant

    Toronto Rehabilitation Institute Hand Function Test (TRI-HFT): Measured on a scale from 0-133 to assess upper extremity manipulation and grip force at time points before and after implant. Higher scores indicate better hand motor function.

  • Change in Hand Motor Evoked Potential (MEP)Baseline, up to 2 months post-implant

    Change in Motor Evoked Potential (MEP): MEP evaluates corticospinal excitability (strength of the connections between the brain and the muscles). The excitability is measured as a peak-to-peak amplitude in millivolts (mV).