Nerve Transfers and Electrical Stimulation for Hand Function in Spinal Cord Injury

This study is looking at whether adding brief electrical stimulation during surgery and temporary electrical stimulation after surgery can improve hand function and reduce pain for people with cervical spinal cord injury (SCI) who are having nerve transfer surgery. Nerve transfer surgery helps restore movement by connecting a working nerve to a non-working one. The electrical stimulation devices being used are called Checkpoint Guardian (during surgery) and SPRINT PNS System (after surgery). You might be able to join if you are 18-65 years old, have a cervical spinal cord injury (C6 or C7 level), and your surgical plan includes specific nerve transfers to help with finger movement. The researchers will measure your hand movement and pain levels up to 36 months after surgery to see if these treatments are helpful. This study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll 10 participants.

Study design
This is an observational study, meaning researchers will watch and record outcomes in 10 participants who receive standard nerve transfer surgery along with electrical stimulation.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your motor score will be measured at 36 months after surgery, and pain will be measured at 6 months after surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06541041

Nerve Transfers Plus Electrical Stimulation to Improve Hand Function in Cervical Spinal Cord Injury

Recruiting
Not specifiedAges 18–65Observational
Stanford University
~10 participants
Updated 2025-02-19 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Brief intraoperative electrical stimulationTemporary Postoperative Peripheral Nerve Stimulation

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Composite Motor Score
Measured over 36 Months Postoperative
+1 more outcome measured
Cervical Spinal Cord Injury
Cervical Spinal Cord Paralysis
Tetraplegia
Tetraplegia/Tetraparesis
Tetraplegic Spinal Paralysis

NCT06541041

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Stanford University/Stanford Health Care

    Palo Alto, Californiastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Thomas J Wilson, MD, MPH · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Stanford University

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

  • Composite Motor Score36 Months Postoperative

    A composite sum of the manual motor testing of the extensor digitorum communis and flexor pollicis longus muscles on the MRC scale (0-5 for each muscle, 0-10 composite score) will be calculated (composite motor score).

  • Percentage of Baseline Pain6 Months Postoperative

    The percentage of baseline pain in the operated limb will be calculated by dividing the postoperative NRS score by the baseline NRS score and multiplying by 100.