Genicular Nerve Block for Tibial Plateau Fracture Pain

This study is looking for better ways to manage pain after surgery for a broken shin bone (tibial plateau fracture). The usual way to control pain is by injecting numbing medicine around your surgical cut. This study wants to see if injecting 5mL of 0.25% bupivacaine (a numbing medicine) near a specific nerve in your knee, called a genicular nerve block, might work better. This nerve block targets a larger area of pain in the knee. We will measure your pain levels using a Visual Analog Scale (VAS) at one hour, two hours, and when you leave the recovery room. You can join if you are an adult (18 or older) having surgery for a new, isolated tibial plateau fracture. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll 38 participants.

Study design
This interventional study will randomly assign participants, like a coin flip, to receive either the standard numbing injection around the incision or the genicular nerve block. It plans to enroll 38 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your pain will be measured at one hour, two hours, and when you are discharged from the recovery room (PACU).

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06639503

Genicular Nerve Block After Open Reduction Internal Fixation of Tibial Plateau

Recruiting
PHASE1Ages 18+InterventionalSupportive care
University of Chicago
~38 participants
Updated 2026-02-05 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Bupivacain

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Pain Ratings from Visual Analog Scale (VAS)
Measured over one hour, two hours, and discharge from PACU
Tibial Plateau Fractures

NCT06639503

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of Chicago

    Chicago, Illinoisstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Anthony Christiano, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Chicago

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Exclusion

Subjects younger than 18
Polytraumatized Subjects
Subjects with pathologic fractures
Subjects with tibial plateau fractures treated nonoperatively
Subjects with tibial plateau fractures treated operatively but with re-operations at the same site
Subjects with open fractures
Subjects with fracture-dislocations
Subjects with active or history of anxiety
Subjects with visual analog scale anxiety score ≥ 7 measured preoperatively
Subjects with chronic pain syndromes
Subjects with chronic opioid use
Subjects with illicit drug use disorder
Subjects with alcohol abuse disorder
Subjects with kidney disease precluding use of ketorolac
Subjects with liver disease precluding the use of acetaminophen
Subjects with allergy to acetaminophen, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), opiates or local anesthesia
Subjects with inability to provide a visual analog scale score postoperatively
Subjects with contraindications to receiving peripheral nerve blocks, including relevant neurologic deficits, active infection at sites of injections - re-operation at the same site
  • Pain Ratings from Visual Analog Scale (VAS)one hour, two hours, and discharge from PACU

    To determine if genicular nerve blockade after open reduction internal fixation of tibial plateau fractures compared to standard care of peri-incisional local anesthetic leads to decreased pain as measured by visual analog scale at one hour postoperatively, two hours postoperatively, and at Post Anesthesia Care Unit (PACU) discharge. The VAS consists of a 10cm line, with two end points representing 0 ('no pain') and 10 ('pain as bad as it could possibly be')