Akura Thrombectomy System for Acute Pulmonary Embolism
This study is testing a new device called the Akura Thrombectomy System. It's designed to remove blood clots (emboli) from the lung arteries (pulmonary arteries) in people who have a sudden blood clot in their lungs (acute pulmonary embolism, or PE). Researchers want to see how safe and effective this system is. You might be able to join if you are 18 or older, have acute PE symptoms for 14 days or less, and have specific findings on a CT scan of your lungs. The study will measure how well the device works and if there are any serious problems within 48 hours after the procedure. The current recruitment status is unclear, but the study plans to enroll 118 participants.
- Study design
- This is a single-arm study, meaning all participants will receive the Akura Thrombectomy System. It plans to enroll 118 participants across multiple centers.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Safety and effectiveness will be measured at 48 hours after the procedure.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Safety and Effectiveness of the Akura Thrombectomy System for Use in the Removal of Emboli From the Pulmonary Arteries in Treating Acute Pulmonary Embolism (PE)
At a glance
Conditions
NCT06672510
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 7 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
Cumc/Nyph
New York, New Yorkno site contact published
Hartford Healthcare
Hartford, Connecticutno site contact published
Los Robles Regional Medical Center
Thousand Oaks, Californiano site contact published
Manatee Memorial Hospital / Nova Clinical Research Center
Bradenton, Floridano site contact published
ProMedica Toledo Hospital
Toledo, Ohiono site contact published
Tallahassee Memorial Hospital
Tallahassee, Floridano site contact published
Tristar Centennial Medical Center
Nashville, Tennesseeno site contact published
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Who to contact
This trial hasn't published a contact. View it on ClinicalTrials.gov
Want this trial checked against your situation?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Effectiveness48 hours
Change in RV/LV ratio from baseline
- Safety: Composite of Major Adverse Device-Related Events48 hours post index procedure
Device-related major bleeding at access, device-related death, clinical deterioration, pulmonary vascular injury or cardiac injury