General vs Spinal Anesthesia in Total Joint Arthroplasty

This study is comparing two types of anesthesia, General Anesthesia and Spinal Anesthesia, for patients undergoing total joint replacement surgery for knee or hip osteoarthritis. Researchers want to understand how these different anesthesia methods affect your recovery. They will be looking at things like how long you stay in the hospital, your pain levels, and any nausea you might experience after surgery. They are also interested in other outcomes such as infections, fractures around the implant, implant dislocation, and if you need to be readmitted to the hospital or have another surgery. You may be able to join if you are 18 or older, are having a total hip or knee replacement for the first time, and can speak English or Spanish. The study is currently unclear on its recruitment status and plans to enroll about 2396 participants.

Study design
This study is comparing two different anesthesia methods in about 2396 participants undergoing total joint replacement surgery.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
The study will measure length of hospital stay for up to 72 hours, and pain and nausea scores for up to 24 hours after surgery.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT06747494

General vs Spinal in Total Joint Arthroplasty (TJA)

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalSupportive care
University of Miami
~2,396 participants
Updated 2026-03-18 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:General AnesthesiaSpinal Anesthesia

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Length of hospital stay
Measured over Up to 72 hours.
+9 more outcomes measured
Knee Osteoarthritis
Hip Osteoarthritis

NCT06747494

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of Miami

    Miami, Floridastudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Victor H Hernandez, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Miami

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Patients undergoing a primary total hip or knee arthroplasty
Subjects must be capable of providing informed consent
English or Spanish speaking

Exclusion

Prior lumbar surgery with hardware insertion
Elevated intracranial pressure
Infection at the site of the procedure
Thrombocytopenia or coagulopathy
Severe mitral and aortic stenosis and left ventricular outflow obstruction
Severe spine pathology (spinal stenosis, spondylolisthesis, spondylosis) with radiculopathy and/or neurogenic claudication
Preexisting neurological disease
Congestive heart failure
Severe aortic stenosis
Patient is unable/unwilling to consent
Current pregnancy or women planning on becoming pregnant in the next year, and women who think they might be pregnant, or women who become pregnant during the study period will be removed from the study.
Prisoners
  • Length of hospital stayUp to 72 hours.

    Will be measured in hours.

  • Change in Patient Pain Scores as measured by the Numeric Rating Pain ScaleBaseline (up to 1 hour after surgery), up to 24 hours.

    Score range from 0 to 10, higher score indicate higher pain scores.

  • Change in Patient Nausea Scores as measured by the Conditioning Scoring CriteriaBaseline (up to 1 hour after surgery), up to 24 hours.

    Score range from 0 to 9, higher score indicate higher nausea scores.

  • Prosthetic joint infectionUp to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the 2018 Musculoskeletal Infection Society criteria.

  • Superficial surgical site infectionUp to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the 2018 Musculoskeletal Infection Society criteria.

  • Number of periprosthetic fractureUp to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the number of periprosthetic fracture.

  • Number of implant dislocation.Up to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the number of implant dislocation.

  • Number of participants who are readmitted 90 days after surgery.Up to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the number of participants who are readmitted 90 days after surgery.

  • Number of participants who receive revision surgery 90 days after surgery.Up to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the number of participants who receive revision surgery 90 days after surgery.

  • Number of participant deaths.Up to 90 days.

    Will be measured by the number of participants deaths.