Observational Study of Percutaneous Ablation and Radiation Therapy for Painful Bone Metastases
This study is looking at how well two treatments, percutaneous ablation (a minimally invasive procedure to destroy nerves or tumor tissue) and palliative radiation therapy (a treatment using radiation to relieve pain), work together for people with painful bone metastases (cancer that has spread to the bones). The study aims to understand real-world results, such as how much pain is reduced, how patients feel, and if they need other medical care. You might be able to join if you are 21 or older, have localized bone pain from cancer that isn't controlled by medicine, and your worst pain in the last 24 hours was 5 or higher on a pain scale. The main goal is to see how much your pain improves after 3 months. The current recruitment status is unclear.
- Study design
- This is an observational study, meaning researchers will watch and collect information from about 120 participants who receive these treatments as part of their regular care.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- The primary endpoint for pain response is measured at 3 months.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
A Multi-Center Observational Trial of Symptomatic, High-Risk Bone Metastases Treated With Percutaneous Ablation and Palliative Radiation Therapy
At a glance
Conditions
NCT06859801
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 8 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
Baptist Health Medical Group
Miami, Floridastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Emory University Hospital
Atlanta, Georgiastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Baltimore, Marylandstudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesotastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsinstudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Northside Hospital
Atlanta, Georgiastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
University of California San Diego Moores Cancer Center
San Diego, Californiastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Washington University
St Louis, Missouristudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Want this trial checked against your situation?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Pain Response3 Months
Combined partial and complete pain response rate using the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI), worst pain 24-hour recall, at 3 months following percutaneous ablation and palliative RT as defined by International Consensus on Palliative Radiotherapy Endpoints in clinical trials (ICPRE). • Partial response is defined as pain reduction of 2 or more at the treated site on a scale of 0 to 10 scale without analgesic increase, or analgesic reduction of 25% or more from Baseline without an increase in pain. • Complete response is defined as a pain score of 0 at the treated site with no concomitant increase in analgesic intake (stable or reducing analgesics in daily OMED).