Anesthesia for Stroke Treatment Study

This study is looking at two different ways to give general anesthesia (medicine to make you sleep during surgery) to people having a procedure called mechanical thrombectomy for an acute ischemic stroke (a stroke caused by a blood clot). You would receive either propofol through an IV (into your vein) or sevoflurane through inhalation (breathing it in). We want to see if one type of anesthesia leads to better functional independence (how well you can do daily activities) 90 days after your treatment. This research will help doctors understand which anesthesia method might be best for stroke patients during this important surgery. We plan to include 120 participants who are over 18 and need this stroke treatment.

Study design
This is a randomized, observer-blinded study, meaning participants will be randomly assigned to one of two anesthesia groups, and the people assessing your recovery won't know which type you received. It aims to enroll 120 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your functional independence will be measured for up to 90 days after your treatment.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07001267

Prospective Randomized Observer Blinded Single Center Study Comparing 90-day Functional Outcome in Patients Who Received Intravenous Propofol Infusion Versus Inhalational Sevoflurane for General Anesthesia During Mechanical Thrombectomy in Patients Who Suffered From Acute Ischemic Stroke

Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalTreatment
University of Kansas Medical Center
~120 participants
Updated 2026-03-12 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Anesthesia drugs during the surgery

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Functional Independence at 90 days
Measured over From enrollment to 90 days after treatment
Acute Ischemic Stroke Patients

NCT07001267

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of Kansas Medical Center

    Kansas City, Kansasstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Arun George, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Kansas Medical Center

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

\>18 years Acute ischemic stroke requiring endovascular treatment.

Exclusion

\<18 years
Pregnant patients
Patients with malignant hyperthermia
Allergies or any contraindications to either inhalational or intravenous agents
Patients already on intravenous anesthetic infusions
Prisoners
Students and employees
  • Functional Independence at 90 daysFrom enrollment to 90 days after treatment

    The primary end point is functional independence at 90 days evaluated with the modified Rankin Scale (mRS). We plan to compare the functional recovery in 90 days in patients undergoing inhalational versus intravenous general anesthesia during mechanical thrombectomy using the modified Rankin score (mRS) in patients who suffered an acute ischemic stroke. (The mRS assesses a patient's functional independence or dependence after a stroke. Scores range from 0 (no symptoms) to 6 (death), with 0-2 indicating functional independence and 3-5 indicating dependence. A separate category of 6 is often added for patients who have died)