HIV/HBV/HCV Triple Screening in Primary Care

This study is looking at a new way to help doctors screen for three bloodborne viruses: HIV, Hepatitis B (HBV), and Hepatitis C (HCV). It tests an electronic medical record (EMR) alert that pops up when a doctor tries to order a screening test for one of these viruses. The alert would then suggest ordering tests for all three viruses at once. The goal is to see if this alert helps doctors screen more patients for these conditions. This study is for primary care providers, not patients. We don't know the current recruitment status, but it plans to involve 50 providers. Success will be measured by how many bloodborne virus screening tests are ordered over a 24-month period.

Study design
This study will involve primary care providers. For each provider, their patient encounters will be randomly assigned to either see the alert or not.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
The study will measure screening tests over a total of 24 months, including up to 1 year of participation.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07031219

HIV/HBV/HCV Triple Screening in Primary Care

Not Yet Recruiting
NAAges 18+InterventionalHealth services
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
~50 participants
Updated 2026-04-29 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:electronic medical record alert linked to orders

At a glance

Recruiting sites
0 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Bloodborne virus (BBV) screening tests
Measured over 24 months total: from 12 months pre-enrollment through the end of study participation (i.e. maximum of 1 year of participation)
HIV
HBV (Hepatitis B Virus)
HCV
1 sites across 1 states
Texas1
  • Mamta K Jain, MD, MPH · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Outpatient primary care adult providers at participating institutions
Providers who provide consent to participate in this study.
Providers must intend to continue their current practice for at least 12 months.
Providers with at least 12 months experience in their current practice.

Exclusion

Providers who do not consent to participate
Sub-specialty providers
Pediatric providers
Providers who anticipate leaving their current practice within the next 12 months (i.e. providers who plan to retire, move, etc.).
Providers with less than 12 months experience in their current practice (i.e. new providers or trainees who joined the practice within the last year)
Note: family medicine and med/peds providers can participate, but only for their adult patients. The intervention alert+order panel and any data collection will be restricted to adult patients ≥ 18 years old.
  • Bloodborne virus (BBV) screening tests24 months total: from 12 months pre-enrollment through the end of study participation (i.e. maximum of 1 year of participation)

    For total bloodborne virus (BBV) screening tests (HIV, hepatitis B virus (HBV), and hepatitis C virus (HCV) combined) and each individual BBV (HIV, HBV, or HCV independently), the investigators will measure the number of screening tests: 1) ordered, 2) performed, 3) with a positive result, 4) with a negative result: overall across all encounters, and compared between control and intervention encounters as well as normalized to the providers' pre-study baseline