Comparing Aphasia Therapies: SFA vs. SFA+MST

This study is comparing two behavioral therapies for people with aphasia (difficulty with language) after a stroke or brain injury. The treatments are called traditional Semantic Feature Analysis (SFA) and Semantic Feature Analysis plus Metacognitive Strategy Training (SFA+MST). SFA helps you name objects by describing their features, while SFA+MST adds training on how to use these strategies more effectively. Researchers want to see which treatment better improves your ability to name pictures and use word-finding strategies. They are also looking at how well you can communicate during everyday speech. You may be able to join if you are between 18 and 89 years old, have aphasia from a single event at least six months ago, and speak English proficiently. The study plans to enroll 40 participants, but its current recruitment status is unclear.

Study design
This interventional study plans to enroll 40 participants. It compares two different behavioral therapies for aphasia.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Your progress will be measured from the start of the study through its completion, which is an average of 6 months.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07036406

Comparing Traditional Semantic Feature Analysis (tSFA) and Semantic Feature Analysis + Metacognitive Strategy Training (SFA+MST)

Recruiting
PHASE2Ages 18–89InterventionalTreatment
Teachers College, Columbia University
~40 participants
Updated 2026-06-25 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:Semantic Feature Analysis (traditional)Semantic Feature Analysis + Metacognitive Strategy Training

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Confrontation naming accuracy
Measured over Change from Baseline through study completion, an average of 6 months
+1 more outcome measured
Aphasia
Aphasia Following Cerebral Infarction
Aphasia, Acquired
Aphasia, Rehabilitation
Aphasia, Anomic
Aphasia, Broca
Aphasia, Conduction
Aphasia, Expressive
Aphasia Non Fluent
Aphasia, Mixed

NCT07036406

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • Teachers College, Columbia University

    New York, New Yorkstudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

Victoria Tilton-Bolowsky, Ph.D. CCC-SLP
Email the study team

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Have aphasia due to a single acute event (e.g., left-hemisphere stroke, traumatic brain injury)
Be at least six-months post aphasia-onset,
Be a proficient English speaker,
Have normal or corrected to normal hearing (i.e., hearing aids) and vision (i.e., eyeglasses),
Have no history of neurodegenerative disease (e.g., dementia), severe motor speech disorder, significant mental illness, psychiatric disorder, drug/alcohol abuse, or neurological condition that could influence their cognitive, language, and memory systems

Exclusion

A history of neurodegenerative disease (e.g., dementia), severe motor speech disorder, significant mental illness, psychiatric disorder, drug/alcohol abuse, or neurological condition that could influence their cognitive, language, and memory systems,
Children under the age of 18,
Adults over the age of 89,
Uncorrected hearing and vision.
  • Confrontation naming accuracyChange from Baseline through study completion, an average of 6 months

    Participants will complete a 60-item confrontation naming assessment before, during, and after treatment. We will calculate the total number of items that participants name accurately across study phases.

  • Independent word-finding strategy useChange from Baseline through study completion, an average of 6 months

    Using the 60-item confrontation naming assessment, we will evaluate instances in which participants independently use a specific word-finding strategy (describing or talking around the word) in instances where they cannot name items successfully, and calculate the proportions of incorrect responses with and without strategy use across study phases.