SENAP Study for Neuropathic Pain

This study, called SENAP, is looking into a new way to treat chronic neuropathic pain (nerve pain) and postherpetic neuralgia (shingles pain). It's testing a device called PFM-guided cortical stimulation, which uses an Abbott Eterna IPG and Lamitrode 44 paddles. The main goal is to see if this treatment is acceptable and effective. You might be able to join if you are 22 years or older and have a diagnosis of chronic neuropathic pain that hasn't responded to other treatments. The study plans to enroll 20 participants, but its current recruitment status is unclear. We will know if the treatment is feasible after 12 months.

Study design
This is an interventional study, meaning participants will receive a specific treatment. It plans to enroll 20 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
The feasibility of the treatment will be measured at 12 months.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07057206

Simultaneous Engagement of Networks for Alleviating Pain (SENAP)

Not Yet Recruiting
PHASE1Ages 22+InterventionalTreatment
University of Minnesota
~20 participants
Updated 2026-07-23 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:PFM-guided cortical stimulation

At a glance

Recruiting sites
0 of 1 listed site is recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Feasibility
Measured over 12 months
Neuropathic Pain
Postherpetic Neuralgia
1 sites across 1 states
Minnesota1
  • David Darrow, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Minnesota
  • Alexander Herman, MD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Minnesota

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Age ≥ 22 years
Clinical diagnosis of a refractory chronic neuropathic pain syndrome suggestive of deafferentation or central pain. Non-limiting examples of these syndromes are:
post-traumatic pain syndromes (e.g. plexopathies, radiation-induced injury)
postsurgical pain syndromes (e.g. phantom limb pain, anesthesia dolorosa)
postherpetic neuralgia
Central pain syndromes (e.g. post-stroke pain, multiple sclerosis pain, post-radiation pain)
Greater than 6 months of chronic neuropathic pain
Average pain intensity over the past 30 days reported as 6 or greater on a 0-10 numeric rating scale (NRS)
Multidisciplinary pain consensus review that establishes
Pain is refractory to medical management
Pain that is refractory to or unlikely to be altered by less invasive treatment and
Pain distribution either does not permit attempts at relief by a targeted nerve block (e.g., post-stroke pain) or such blocks have provided \<25% relief.
Medication doses currently stable (no active titration or drug trials in progress) in the 30 days prior to baseline (immediately pre-surgical) study visit
Ability to speak / read English
Capable of understanding and providing informed consent (verified if necessary by a standard tool such as the MacArthur Competency Assessment)
Women of childbearing age must be on regular use of an accepted contraceptive method(s).

Exclusion

Pregnancy, breastfeeding, or unwilling to maintain regular use of contraceptives. Patients who become pregnant after enrollment may be excluded from the study if study procedures may cause risk to the fetus. Patients who become pregnant prior to the surgical implantation will be excluded from the study.
Aphasia severe enough to limit the consent process or communication between the investigators and the patient. Patients with mild or recovering aphasia may be considered candidates at the discretion of the PI.
Untreated or uncontrolled psychiatric illness (schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder), or personality disorders (e.g. borderline personality disorder) or other neuropsychiatric conditions that the evaluating clinician would recommend exclusion of the patient after neuropsychiatric evaluation.
History of seizure disorder and seizure within the last year. Participants with a remote history of epilepsy will need documentation from their neurologist for eligibility.
Suicide attempt within 12 months from baseline visit or imminent suicide risk in the judgment of study clinicians.
Modified Scale for Suicidal Ideation Score of greater than or equal to 21
History of diagnosed substance use disorder in the past 3 years. Benzodiazepines and/or opioids prescribed by a physician with use as directed do not count for this criterion. Cannabis/cannabinoid products will not be considered an exclusion if used under the auspices of a state-sponsored medical cannabis program.
Major medical comorbidities increasing the risk of surgery including uncontrolled hypertension, severe diabetes, major organ system failure, need for chronic anticoagulation other than aspirin, active infection, immunocompromised state, or malignancy with \< 5 years life expectancy.
Inability to temporarily stop anticoagulation therapy (approximately 3 weeks total) for surgery and after surgery. Patients taking these medications will need to discuss the need/risk of continuing these medications with their physicians and the PI or study personnel may contact the treating physician(s) as well to discuss the risks of anticoagulation / antiaggregation therapy discontinuation.
MRI (done within one year of the baseline period) with significant abnormalities other than those associated with the neurological disorder causing chronic pain.
Implantable hardware not compatible with MRI or with the study or former metal worker that may pose risk from MRI.
Previous ablative intracranial surgery for the management of a central pain syndrome.
history of other neurosurgical procedures that may interfere with functioning of the device
Active, pending, or planned litigation or workman's compensation claim related to the pain/injury. Current receipt of disability benefits, without a dispute or litigation, is not an exclusion.
Requires ongoing or expected diathermy, electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) or transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) to treat a chronic condition
Allergies or known hypersensitivity to materials in the implanted system (i.e. titanium, polyurethane, silicone, polyetherimide, stainless steel).
Any other condition that, in the judgment of the PI or the Data Safety \& Monitoring Board, significantly increases risk of receiving an implanted neurostimulator.
Those who require ongoing monitoring of a disease state by MRI.
Inability to target the somatocognitive action network or cingulate opercular network on fMRI
  • Feasibility12 months

    Percentage of participants enrolled in the study who then undergo surgery and undergo externalized stimulation testing followed by implantation of the implantable pulse generator (IPG)