COMPASS 3: A Program to Reduce Disability After Stroke

This study, called COMPASS 3, is looking at a new program to help people transition home after a stroke. You might be able to join if you are at least 55 years old, had an ischemic or hemorrhagic stroke, were independent before your stroke, and plan to go home after inpatient rehabilitation. Half of the participants will receive an environmental modification program called COMPASS, which tailors changes to your home based on your needs. The other half will receive a stroke education program. The main goal is to see if these programs can reduce the need for admission to a skilled nursing facility (SNF) within 12 months after leaving inpatient rehabilitation. The study aims to enroll 520 participants, but its current status is unclear.

Study design
This is a randomized, controlled multi-center trial. It will involve 520 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will be followed for 12 months after discharge from inpatient rehabilitation.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07069660

Compass 3: A Novel Transition Program to Reduce Disability After Stroke

Recruiting
NAAges 55+InterventionalTreatment
Washington University School of Medicine
~520 participants
Updated 2026-02-13 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:COMPASSEducation Program

At a glance

Recruiting sites
1 of 2 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Admission to SNF (skilled nursing facility)
Measured over From enrollment to 12 months post-discharge from inpatient rehabilitation facility
Stroke

NCT07069660

Where you'd take part

This study runs at 2 sites. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.

  • University of Missouri

    Columbia, Missouristudy coordinator listed

    Not yet recruiting

  • Washington University in St. Louis

    St Louis, Missouristudy coordinator listed

    Recruiting

Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.

  • Susan Stark, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · Washington University School of Medicine

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Want this trial checked against your situation?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Aged ≥55 years at the time of screening
Acute stroke diagnosis (IS or ICH) verified by the stroke team or medical record
Independent in activities of daily living (ADLs) prior to stroke (premorbid Modified Rankin Scale score ≤2)
Plan to discharge to home from an IR
Capable of giving informed consent which includes compliance with the requirements and duration of participation as listed in the Informed Consent Form (ICF).

Exclusion

Life expectancy \<6 months
Cognitive impairment that the participant's stroke team or a research team member believes impairs their ability to provide informed consent or make reasoned choice including the interpretation of the self-rated scales
Any communication problem that would prevent study completion
Residence in a congregate living facility
Not eligible for a therapeutic pass
Residence outside of the designated catchment area (specific catchment distance to be determined by each site)
Site investigator's judgment that the participant would not be able to complete research procedures or interventions
Participation in another research study that in the site investigator's judgment could interfere or conflict with this research study's assessments or interventions
  • Admission to SNF (skilled nursing facility)From enrollment to 12 months post-discharge from inpatient rehabilitation facility

    Date and days of admission to a skilled nursing facility