Investigating BNT314, Pumitamig, and Chemotherapy for Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

This study is testing a new combination treatment for advanced colorectal cancer that has spread (metastatic). It combines two investigational (still being studied) treatments, BNT314 and Pumitamig, with standard chemotherapy. BNT314 is designed to help your body's immune system fight cancer, and Pumitamig is also an immunotherapy drug. The study is looking to see if this combination is safe and effective in shrinking tumors or slowing their growth. You might be able to join if you have unresectable (cannot be removed by surgery) colorectal cancer that is not MSI-H (microsatellite instability-high) and is measurable. The study plans to enroll 482 participants.

Study design
This is a multi-site study with three parts. It will enroll 482 participants.
What's involved
Not specified in the trial record.
Compensation
Not stated in the trial record.
Follow-up
Participants will have a safety follow-up period and a long-term survival follow-up period after treatment.

AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.

NCT07079631

A Clinical Study to Test if an Investigational Treatment Called BNT314 When Used in Combination With Another Investigational Treatment Pumitamig (BNT327) and Chemotherapy, is Beneficial and Safe for Patients With Advanced Colorectal Cancer

Recruiting
PHASE1Ages 18+InterventionalTreatment
BioNTech SE
~482 participants
Updated 2026-07-01 on ClinicalTrials.gov
What's tested:BNT314PumitamigSoC chemotherapy treatment 1SoC chemotherapy treatment 2Bevacizumab

At a glance

Recruiting sites
14 of 14 listed sites are recruiting right now
RecruitingSuspended, closed, or not yet open
What they're measuring
Phase I - Part A: Occurrence of dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) during the DLT observation period
Measured over Up to 28 days after Day 1, Cycle 1
+7 more outcomes measured
Metastatic Colorectal Cancer
14 sites across 8 states
Spain3
United Kingdom3
Germany2
Japan2
Connecticut1
Michigan1
Ohio1
Texas1
  • BioNTech Responsible Person · STUDY_DIRECTOR · BioNTech SE
BioNTech clinical trials patient information
Email the study team

Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.

Do you actually qualify for this trial?

Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.

Check eligibility for this trial ~2 min · HIPAA-protected · delete anytime
Eligibility criteria

Inclusion

Have unresectable histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum.
Have confirmed non-microsatellite instability-high (non-MSI-H)/pMMR mCRC per Food and Drug Administration (FDA)/European Commission (EC) approved test or based on local testing.
Have measurable disease defined by RECIST v1.1.
Must provide a tumor tissue sample (formalin-fixed, paraffin-embedded or tissue slides) collected before C1D1 for enrollment. A newly obtained tumor sample is preferred. If it is not feasible to obtain a recent tumor sample, participants can provide archival tumor tissue (less than 2 years prior treatment).
Have Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group Performance Status of 0 or 1.
Have a life expectancy of ≥12 weeks.
Have an adequate organ and bone marrow function within ≤7 days of Day 1 as defined in the protocol.
Have had an adequate previous treatment washout period before randomization/enrollment as defined in the protocol.
Have histologically confirmed metastatic colorectal cancer and radiographically documented disease progression after ≥2 prior lines of systemic therapy for metastatic disease as defined in the protocol.
Have progressed following first-line chemotherapy as specified in the protocol.
Have not received prior systemic therapy for MSS/pMMR mCRC. Participants who received chemotherapy, radiotherapy, or chemoradiotherapy with curative intent for non-metastatic disease in the neoadjuvant or adjuvant setting are eligible for the study if therapy was completed at least 6 months prior to initiation of study treatment.

Exclusion

Confirmed MSI-H/deficient mismatch repair mCRC (per FDA/CE approved test or based on local testing).
Prior treatment with epithelial cell-adhesion molecule or 4-1BB targeted or immunotherapy.
Prior treatment with immune checkpoint inhibitors or programmed death-ligand 1 (PD\[L\]-1)/vascular endothelial growth factor bispecific antibody.
Is a candidate to locoregional treatment (including surgical resection, stereotactic radiation therapy or tumor ablation) with potential to induce complete or near complete response and prolonged tumor control (sometimes described as "radical" intent), per investigator's assessment.
Have uncontrolled or significant cardiovascular disease as specified in the protocol.
Have left ventricular ejection fraction \<50% by echocardiogram or multigated acquisition within 28 days before randomization/enrollment.
Have clinically uncontrolled pleural effusion, ascites or pericardial effusion requiring drainage, peritoneal shunt, or cell-free concentrated ascites reinfusion therapy within 2 weeks prior to randomization/enrollment.
Have clinically active central nervous system metastases, defined as untreated and symptomatic, or requiring therapy with corticosteroids or anticonvulsants to control associated symptoms. Participants with treated brain metastases that are no longer symptomatic and who require no treatment with corticosteroids or anticonvulsants may be included in the study if they have recovered from the acute toxic effect of radiotherapy. Participants with untreated, asymptomatic brain metastases for whom local therapy is not indicated per SoC may be eligible if neurologically stable and (if deemed necessary by the investigator). Except for brain metastases history, any participants at imminent risk for spinal cord compression or leptomeningeal disease are not eligible.
Have unresolved toxicities from previous anticancer therapy, defined as toxicities (other than alopecia) not yet resolved to Grade ≤1 or baseline toxicities that have resolved with sequelae (e.g., tracheostomy, chronic use of feeding tube, replacement hormones) are allowed, if not associated with increased risk of complications per investigator's assessment.
Participants in Part B or C who fulfill one of the conditions:
Prior treatment with anticancer therapies (as defined in the protocol) with unusual toxicity, or
Known dihydropyrimidine dehydrogenase (DPD) deficiency, testing performed according to the local guidelines. If not tested, lack of DPD activity must be tested for the participants who have not received anticancer therapies (as defined in the protocol) in the prior lines of treatment; testing should be performed according to the local guidelines.
Have a history of another primary malignancy within 2 years, except adequately resected non-melanoma skin cancer, curatively treated in-situ disease, or other solid tumors curatively treated (adjuvant hormone therapy for malignancies at low risk of relapse is allowed) or have a known additional malignancy that is progressing or requires treatment.
Have a history of small bowel obstruction requiring hospitalization within the past 3 months prior to the first dose of IMP.
Have 24-h urine protein excretion ≥1 g. If qualitative urine protein is ≤1+, a 24-h urine protein quantitative test is not required.
Have active autoimmune disease or a history of autoimmune disease (myasthenia gravis, myositis, autoimmune hepatitis, systemic lupus erythematosus, rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease, vasculitis, antiphospholipid antibody syndrome, Wegener granulomatosis, Sjögren's syndrome, Guillain-Barré syndrome, or multiple sclerosis) with a risk of exacerbation following PD-L1 inhibition or have an immune deficiency (allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation or organ transplantation). Participants with protocol-specified conditions may be eligible.
Have serious non-healing wounds, ulcers, or bone fractures. This includes history of abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, or intra abdominal abscess or esophageal and gastric varices, acute gastrointestinal bleeding for which an interval of 6 months must pass before enrollment into this study. In addition, the participant must have undergone correction (or spontaneous healing) of the perforation/fistula and/or the underlying process causing the fistula/perforation.
Have evidence of major coagulation disorders or other significant risks of hemorrhage as specified in the protocol.
  • Phase I - Part A: Occurrence of dose limiting toxicities (DLTs) during the DLT observation periodUp to 28 days after Day 1, Cycle 1
  • Phase I - Part A: Occurrence of treatment emergent adverse events (TEAEs) and treatment related adverse events (TRAEs)From initiation of the first dose of BNT314 + pumitamig until 90 days after last dose of investigational medicinal product (IMP)

    Assessed according to Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0 (CTCAE v5.0) including Grade ≥3, serious, fatal TEAEs by relationship.

  • Phase I - Part A: Occurrence of dose interruption or discontinuation of study treatment due to TEAEsFrom initiation of the first dose of BNT314 + pumitamig until 90 days after last dose of IMP
  • Phase I - Part B: Occurrence DLTs during the DLT observation period for the first five participants in each dose cohortUp to 42 days after Day 1, Cycle 1
  • Phase I - Part B: Occurrence of TEAEs and TRAEsFrom initiation of the first dose of BNT314 + pumitamig + SoC chemotherapy until 90 days after last dose of IMP

    Assessed according to CTCAE v5.0 including Grade ≥3, serious, fatal TEAEs by relationship.

  • Phase I - Part B: Occurrence of dose interruption or discontinuation of study treatment due to TEAEsFrom initiation of the first dose of BNT314 + pumitamig + SoC chemotherapy until 90 days after last dose of IMP
  • Phase I - Part B: Objective response rate (ORR)From the time of initiation of the first dose of IMP to end of study, up to 57 months

    Defined as the percentage of participants in whom a complete response (CR) or confirmed partial response (PR) (assessed by the blinded independent central review \[BICR\] per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 \[RECIST v1.1\]) is observed as best overall response.

  • Phase II - Part C: Progression free survivalFrom the time of initiation of the first dose of IMP to end of study, up to 57 months

    Defined as the time from randomization to first documented tumor progression (progressive disease assessed by BICR per RECIST v1.1), or death from any cause, whichever occurs first.