Study for Spine Metastases and Bone Pain
This study is for people with spine metastases (cancer that has spread to the spine) and bone pain. It compares two ways to treat these conditions: radiofrequency ablation and bone augmentation with radiotherapy versus radiotherapy alone. Radiofrequency ablation uses heat to destroy cancer cells, followed by a bone-strengthening material. Radiotherapy uses high-energy radiation. The study wants to see if adding radiofrequency ablation and bone augmentation reduces skeletal-related events (SREs), which are problems like bone fractures or nerve compression. You may be able to join if you are 18 or older and have confirmed metastatic disease in your spine (T5-L5 area) with pain or imaging that suggests SREs. The study aims to enroll 36 participants, but its current recruitment status is unclear.
- Study design
- This is a single-center, randomized controlled pilot study. Participants will be randomly assigned to one of two treatment groups, with 36 participants planned.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Participants will be followed for skeletal-related events at 1, 3, 6, 12, and 24 months after treatment.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Radiofrequency Ablation/Bone Augmentation + Radiotherapy vs Radiotherapy Alone
At a glance
Conditions
NCT07090122
Where you'd take part
This study runs at 1 site. They're the same protocol — you choose where, and that choice sets who your contact draft is addressed to.
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesotastudy coordinator listed
Recruiting
Sites open and close at different times, so the status above is per site — it can differ from the study's overall status.
Study leadership
- Reza Talaie · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Minnesota
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Want this trial checked against your situation?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Skeletal-related event (SREs) outcomes at 1 monthMonth 1
Skeletal-related events are defined as new clinical or radiologic evidence of pathologic fracture, spinal cord or nerve root compression, pain or instability, and/or necessity for additional local intervention (i.e. surgery, repeat RFA/BA or RT) due to persistent or progressive symptoms.
- Skeletal-related event (SREs) outcomes at 3 monthsMonth 3
Skeletal-related events are defined as new clinical or radiologic evidence of pathologic fracture, spinal cord or nerve root compression, pain or instability, and/or necessity for additional local intervention (i.e. surgery, repeat RFA/BA or RT) due to persistent or progressive symptoms.
- Skeletal-related event (SREs) outcomes at 6 monthsMonth 6
Skeletal-related events are defined as new clinical or radiologic evidence of pathologic fracture, spinal cord or nerve root compression, pain or instability, and/or necessity for additional local intervention (i.e. surgery, repeat RFA/BA or RT) due to persistent or progressive symptoms.
- Skeletal-related event (SREs) outcomes at 12 monthsMonth 12
Skeletal-related events are defined as new clinical or radiologic evidence of pathologic fracture, spinal cord or nerve root compression, pain or instability, and/or necessity for additional local intervention (i.e. surgery, repeat RFA/BA or RT) due to persistent or progressive symptoms.
- Skeletal-related event (SREs) outcomes at 24 monthsMonth 24
Skeletal-related events are defined as new clinical or radiologic evidence of pathologic fracture, spinal cord or nerve root compression, pain or instability, and/or necessity for additional local intervention (i.e. surgery, repeat RFA/BA or RT) due to persistent or progressive symptoms.