Post-cesarean Pain Management: Staggered vs. Simultaneous Therapies
This study is looking at the best way to give pain medication after a cesarean delivery (C-section). Researchers want to see if giving acetaminophen (Tylenol) and NSAIDs (like ibuprofen or ketorolac) at different times (staggered) works better for pain control than giving them at the same time (simultaneous). You might be able to join if you are at least 16 years old, are at least 34 weeks pregnant with one baby, and are having a C-section with regional anesthesia. The study will measure your pain levels 48 hours after delivery and how much opioid pain medication you use until you leave the hospital. The study plans to include 825 women, but its current status is unclear.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study that plans to enroll 825 participants to compare two different dosing schedules for pain medication after C-section.
- What's involved
- Not specified in the trial record.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Your pain control will be measured at 48 hours after delivery, and opioid consumption will be tracked until you are discharged from the hospital (typically 2-5 days).
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Post-cesarean Analgesia: Comparing Effectiveness of Staggered v. Simultaneous Therapies
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
1 sites across 1 statesWho to contact
This trial hasn't published a contact. View it on ClinicalTrials.gov
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Postpartum pain control48 (+/- 4) hours postpartum
Visual analog pain score (VAS) with movement. Scale ranges from 0-10 with 0 indicating no pain and 10 indicating worst possible pain
- Opioid consumptionPostpartum Admission (From time of surgery to hospital discharge; typically 2-5 days)
Opioid consumption (in total morphine milligram equivalents (MME))