Deep Brain Stimulation for Walking After Spinal Cord Injury
This study is looking at Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) as a possible way to help people walk better after a spinal cord injury (SCI). DBS involves a device that sends electrical currents to a specific area of the brain called the cuneiform nucleus (CnF). Researchers want to see if this treatment is safe and effective for people with incomplete SCI who have trouble walking. You might be able to join if you are between 22 and 70 years old and had your SCI at least one year ago. The study will measure success by looking at changes in walking speed and how far you can walk over a certain time. The current status of this study is unclear, and it plans to enroll 6 participants.
- Study design
- This is an interventional study with a planned enrollment of 6 participants. It is not specified if it is randomized or blinded.
- What's involved
- You would undergo a single surgery to implant the DBS device, followed by training sessions three times a week, both before and after the surgery, each lasting up to 60 minutes.
- Compensation
- Not stated in the trial record.
- Follow-up
- Your walking ability will be measured at the beginning of the study and then again for up to 34 weeks.
AI-generated from the public study record. Only the study team can confirm whether you're eligible — confirm details with them before making decisions.
Cuneiform Nucleus (CnF) Deep Brain Stimulation for Gait Facilitation Following Spinal Cord Injury
At a glance
Conditions
Where it's being run
2 sites across 1 statesStudy leadership
- Brian R Noga, PhD · PRINCIPAL_INVESTIGATOR · University of Miami
Who to contact
Opens a ready-to-send draft in your own email app — review before sending.
Do you actually qualify for this trial?
Add a private profile and we'll compare every criterion below against your situation — and tell you which ones are met, uncertain, or excluding.
Inclusion
Exclusion
What this trial measures
- Change in walking speed measured by 10-meter walk testbaseline, up to 34 weeks
The ten-meter walk test will be measured in meters/second.
- Change in distance measured by 6-min walk testbaseline, up to 34 weeks
The 6-min walk test will be measured in meters